Sunday 25 February 2018

Tyrone see off 13-man Donegal

Tyrone 1-15 Donegal 2-8

Stephen McMenamin in action against Cathal McShane (SPORTSFILE)
Stephen McMenamin in action against Cathal McShane (SPORTSFILE)
Michael Carroll in action against Peter Teague (SPORTSFILE)
Caolan McGonagle in action against Frank Burns (SPORTSFILE)

Tyrone, the defending Ulster and All-Ireland U-21 champions, overcame Donegal in an action-packed semi-final at Celtic Park.

Ryan Coleman's goal sent Tyrone on their way, but it was a night that Donegal will reflect on and wonder just how they hadn't come out on top.

Tyrone struck gold in the 38th minute when Coleman found the top corner after Mark Kavanagh saw a shot come off an upright. Donegal hit back with Conor Doherty goaling, but the Tir Chonaill men were reduced to 13 men.

Stephen McMenamin, after two yellows, and sub Bruce Waldron, who was given yellow, black and red not long after coming on, had their nights prematurely ended.

Sean Fox, the Tyrone goalkeeper, denied Stephen McBrearty and Jamie Brennan with crucial saves and the Red Hands hit a purple patch.

Lee Brennan and Cathal McShane were key here with Brennan raising the roof when he converted a sideline free. McBrearty netted a late penalty for Donegal and 'keeper Fox was black-carded on a night of high drama.

It was too little, too late, though as Tyrone advanced.

Scorers - Donegal: S McBrearty 1-5 (1-0pen, 3f), C Doherty 1-0, C O'Donnell, C Thompson (f), C Bonner 0-1 each. Tyrone: R Coleman 1-2, L Brennan 0-5 (3f) C McShane (1f), M Kavanagh 0-2 each, S O'Donnell, S Loughran, F Burns, S Fox 0-1 each

Donegal - D Rodgers; C Morrison, K Gillespie, J O'Brien; S McMenamin, E McGrath, A McClean; C O'Donnell, C Thompson; C Bonner, E Gallagher, S McBrearty; J Brennan, C McGonagle, M Carroll. Subs: C Doherty for Brennan (32), M Coyle for Bonner (40), B Waldron for McGonagle (BC, 42), C Mulligan for McClean (46), A Neely for O'Donnell (54), Jack Scally for O'Brien (58).

Tyrone - S Fox; C McCann, P Teague, S Hamill; C Byrne, S Loughran, M O'Neill; C McShane, B McDonnell; M Kavanagh, F Burns, D Mulgrew; L Brennan, R Coleman, S Fox. Subs: M McKernan for Teague (15), J Harkin for McDonnell (BC, 17), R McGlone for O'Neill (50), for McShane (54), S O'Donnell for Kavanagh (58) R McGeary for Fox (BC, 60).

Ref - B Cassidy (Derry)

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport