Tyrone disciplinary chiefs taking no further action after finding Cavanagh's injuries were accidental
The injuries sustained by Seán Cavanagh in a Tyrone club championship game last Saturday were caused accidentally, disciplinary chiefs in the county have found.
The CCC will take no action against any Edendork player as a result of the incident in which the former Tyrone captain suffered a broken nose and concussion while playing for Moy.
Members of the CCC considered the report of referee Kieran Eannetta and viewed a video of the game before coming to their decision, which was confirmed in a statement last night. The Tyrone CCC said it was satisfied the referee acted appropriately in imposing no sanction following the incident.
"The CCC was satisfied that the referee was well-positioned, in clear view of the incident, and adjudicated on the matter, appropriately," read the statement. "Tyrone GAA takes the opportunity, again, to wish its former senior football team captain, Seán Cavanagh, captain a speedy recovery from the injury that he sustained."
Last Saturday's SFC tie at O'Neill Park in Dungannon produced a staggering total of 27 cards - 20 yellow, one black and six red. None of the dismissals were on straight red cards, however.
The incident involving Cavanagh occurred in the first half. No card was issued to the Edendork player involved. The former Tyrone captain was taken to hospital, after being treated by medics for a time at the sideline.
Meanwhile, the Edendork club sent its best wishes to Cavanagh for a speedy recovery, but in a strongly-worded statement this weekend, has hit out at the manner in which the controversy was covered by some media outlets and on social media.
"As a club we would like to advise that we have been deeply disappointed by the aspersions cast upon our players and club in respect of this incident. It is quite clear that a blind trial by media has occurred in relation to this matter, causing the individual player and the club a great deal of vexation."
The statement continued: "It should be noted that this was a collision that occurred during the course of play and in plain view of the referee and match officials whilst the ball was in play. No sanction or disciplinary action ensued at that time."
Sunday Indo Sport