Saturday 14 December 2019

Tyrone and Cavan opt against changes

Tom Parsons, Mayo. Photo: Sportsfile
Tom Parsons, Mayo. Photo: Sportsfile
Donnchadh Boyle

Donnchadh Boyle

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte has named an unchanged team for Sunday's Ulster SFC semi-final clash with Cavan.

Harte has opted against making switches from the side that started against Derry, despite the return to fitness of a number of players, including Ronan McNabb, Conor Meyler and Rory Brennan.

McNabb is named in the squad for the first time since last August's All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Kerry, having recovered from a cruciate knee ligament rupture. In all, 13 of the side that started the league final in over Cavan remain. Cavan manager Terry Hyland has also stuck with the same side that beat Armagh in their opener for the Clones clash.

Elsewhere, Mayo have made just one change from the side that proved too strong for London in their Connacht SFC opener for tomorrow night's visit of Galway to Elverys MacHale Park in Castlebar.

Experienced midfielder Tom Parsons (below) returns to the side at the expense of Stephen Coen.

Gary Walsh is among four Laois players dropped for their Qualifier clash with Armagh. Walsh took to twitter to express his anger at being axed from the squad in the wake of the defeat to Dublin that saw him withdrawn at half-time. However, after talks with management, he was reinstated to the squad.

Kildare boss Cian O'Neill must plan without the injured trio of Daniel Flynn (hamstring), Kevin Feeley (shoulder), Paul Cribbin (knee) for their Leinster SFC semi-final against Westmeath on Sunday week. However, Niall Kelly has returned to training.

Tyrone (SF v Cavan) - M O'Neill, A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron, T McCann, N Sludden, P Harte, C Cavanagh, M Donnelly, C McShane, M Bradley, R Donnelly, C McAliskey, S Cavanagh, R O'Neill.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Cavan (v Tyrone) - R Galligan; P Faulkner, K Clarke, R Dunne; F Flanagan, C Moynagh, N Murray; T Corr, M Argue; D McVeety, G McKiernan, M Reilly; D Givney, C Mackey, S Johnston.

Mayo (SF v Galway) - R Hennelly; B Harrison, K Keane, K Higgins; L Keegan, C Boyle, P Durcan; T Parsons, J Gibbons; K McLoughlin, A O'Shea, J Doherty; E Regan, C O'Connor, C O'Shea.

Derry ( SF v Louth) - C Mullan Young; G McKinless, C Mullan, K McKaigue; N Forester, D Rogers, L McGoldrick; C McAtamney, N Holly; D Heavron, C Bradley, E Brown; J Kielt, E McGuckin, M Lynch.

Laois (SF v Armagh) - G Brody; S Attride, M Timmons, D O'Connor; D Strong, K Lillis, G Dillon; B Quigley, K Meaney; N Donoher, P Cahillane, C Begley; C Meredith, D Kingston, D Conway.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport