Wednesday 13 November 2019

Tynan drives Tipp past Galway

Tipperary 1-10 Galway 0-6 All Ireland Minor Football Quarter Final

Tipperary's Alan Tynan takes on the Galway defence, from left, Caelom Mulry, Seán Kelly and Dylan McHugh
Tipperary's Alan Tynan takes on the Galway defence, from left, Caelom Mulry, Seán Kelly and Dylan McHugh
Galway's Colm Ó Braonain gets away from Brian McGrath
Jack Skeehan claims the ball ahead of Galway's Ciarán Brady
Tipperary's Brendan Martin spins off a challenge from John Daly
Tipperary manager Charlie McKeever celebrates with Brian McGrath, left, and Brendan Martin after the game Newsdesk Newsdesk

Alan Tynan proved the hero of the hour for Tipperary yesterday as the talented Roscrea youngster fired 1-5 to power Tipperary to an All-Ireland MFC semi-final with Leinster champions Kildare.

Galway missed numerous goal chances either side of half-time and while those misses proved costly, Tynan made the most of his goal chance when he finished expertly with a low drive to put the game beyond the Tribesmen's reach with seven minutes remaining.

Tipp held a 0-4 to 0-3 lead at half-time as defence was the name of the game for both sides with space and scores at a premium.

Galway had a couple of first-half chances to find the net but were twice denied by superb blocks from corner-back Tadhg Fitzgerald.

The best chance of them all came early in the second half when Paudie McCormack cut in from the left and aimed for the bottom corner, but this time it was Liam Fahy who got a crucial touch to deflect the ball onto the post.

Three scores in as many minutes from Tipperary put distance between the teams and the final 10 minutes belonged to the victors.

Tynan's goal, set up by Emmett Moloney sealed the deal for Tipp who go into the All Ireland semi-final as the only provincial loser to make it through.

It continues to be a memorable year for man of the match Tynan who already has a Leinster Schools Rugby medal, an All-Ireland Colleges "C" hurling medal and a Munster hurling medal to his name this year.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Scorers - Tipperary: A Tynan 1-5 (2f, 1 '45), B Martin 0-2, C English, J Kennedy, J Bergin 0-1 each. Galway: C Marsden 0-2fs, J Daly 0-2 (1f), P McCormack & E Lee 0-1 each.

Tipperary - C Manton; T Lowry, J Skeehan, T Fitzgerald; E Moloney, L Fahy, D Owens; J Kennedy, T Nolan; R Peters, A Tynan, A Buckley; C English, B McGrath, B Martin. Subs: M Kehoe for English (50), J Bergin for Peters (54), J Delahunty for Martin (58), M Connors for Buckley (59), G Whelan for Moloney (60+1).

Galway - R Ó Beolain; C Mulry, D McHugh, I Kent; S Kelly, L Ó Ceallaigh, J Daly; C Brady, C Ó Braonáin; E Lee, F Ó Laoí, M Boyle; R Forde, P McCormack, C Marsden. Subs: P Ó Domhnaill for Ó Laoí (14), C Ryan for Vaughan (38), C McDaid for Forde (55), D Conneely for Lee (56).

Ref - M McNally (Monaghan)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport