Tuesday 16 January 2018

Tubridy takes centre stage in dull show to deliver title for Doonbeg

Doonbeg 0-11
Liscannor 0-7
Clare SFC Final

Gerry Quinn

The standard of football was incredibly poor and the excitement generated for neutrals in the crowd of 6,000 was low but Doonbeg will not care one iota, as the Magpies secured an 18th senior county title -- and a first since 2001 -- at Cusack Park, Ennis yesterday.

In a low-scoring, dour contest, experience and tradition won out as a hungrier and less wasteful Doonbeg managed to outclass a gallant if limited Liscannor outfit.

Having trailed by 0-3 to 0-2 at the break, the West Clare club dug deep and with the introduction of Jamie Whelan and Shane O'Brien off the bench soon after half-time, they went on to dominate and deservedly finish four points in front.

The opening score of the game came in the seventh minute when Doonbeg's David Tubridy landed a 40m free after captain Colm Dillon was fouled in possession.

Liscannor finally broke their duck in the 15th minute when Niall Considine left-footed over the bar from a distance.

Shortly afterwards Liscannor were dealt a cruel blow when Niall's brother Kieran, who lined out at full-forward, had to retire with an injury.

The sides were level at five apiece by the 38th minute.

Doonbeg's changes and positional switches began to have the desired effect and three unanswered points by Tubridy, one from play and two frees, put daylight between the teams for the first time.

Shane Ryan, Frank O'Dea and substitute Whelan all recorded good scores for Doonbeg as the second half progressed and even though Liscannor fought hard to the end and replied with an Alan Clohessy free on 59 minutes, the trophy was Doonbeg bound.

Scorers -- Doonbeg: D Tubridy 0-5 (0-4f), C Dillon 0-2, E Doyle, S Ryan, F O'Dea, J Whelan 0-1 each. Liscannor: A Clohessy 0-3 (0-3f), N Considine 0-2, Johnny Considine, R Slattery 0-1 each.

Doonbeg -- N Dillon, J Blake, P Gallagher, C Whelan, R Vaughan, D Downes, P Aherne, F O'Dea, E Doyle, B Egan, C Dillon (Capt.), S Killeen, K Nugent, S Ryan, D Tubridy. Subs: S O'Brien for Kileen (36), J Whelan for Egan (38).

Liscannor -- N Kilmartin, S Canavan, D McDonagh (Capt), M Foley, R Lucas, D Blake, G Considine, B Considine, R Slattery, Joe Considine, T McDonagh, A Clohessy, N Considine, K Considine, D Fawl. Subs: Johnny Considine for K Considine (15), A Flaherty for T McDonagh (38), D Murphy for Johnny Considine (52), A McDonagh for Joe Considine (60).

Ref -- M Talty (Kilmurry-Ibrickane).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport