Wednesday 21 February 2018

Tomás Ó Sé's 2017 All Stars: Just one player breaks Dublin and Mayo's dominance

These three made the team
These three made the team Newsdesk Newsdesk

Only one player outside of Dublin and Mayo was able to force their way into Tomás Ó Sé's 2017 All Star team.

Ó Sé is backing Kerry forward Paul Geaney to earn his second straight All Star selection, but outside of him, it is Dublin and Mayo who lead the way with seven selections each.

Andy Moran, James McCarthy, Stephen Cluxton and David Clarke were revealed as the four nominees for Footballer of the Year last week, with the Mayo goalkeeper getting pipped by the Dublin captain in Ó Sé's team.

Mayo edge Dublin in defence, with four selections to three, while Dublin have the advantage in attack with three selections to two.

Midfield is shared, with McCarthy and Tom Parsons getting the nod.

Tomás Ó Sé's 2017 All Stars

1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2. Mick Fitzsimons (Dublin)

3. Chris Barrett (Mayo)

4. Keith Higgins (Mayo)

5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)

6. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

7. Colm Boyle (Mayo)

8. James McCarthy (Dublin)

9. Tom Parsons (Mayo)

10. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)

11. Aidan O'Shea (Mayo)

12. Con O'Callaghan (Dublin)

13. Dean Rock (Dublin)

14. Paul Geaney (Kerry)

15. Andy Moran (Mayo)

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport