Saturday 20 January 2018

Today's ladies football final previews

All-Ireland ifc final replay

Cavan v Westmeath

Croke Park, 4.15

Cavan came from three points down in the final six minutes to force a replay when these sides met two weeks ago.

Two second-half goals looked to have secured the silverware for the Lake County but Cavan captain Aisling Doonan led her team's fightback and forced a replay. The two sides will be very familiar with one another at this stage, having already played each other twice this championship season, so we can be sure of another tight game.

Westmeath have made three changes to the side that started last time out with Kelly Boyce Jordan, Laura Brennan and Katie Somers losing out to Karen Hegarty, Jennifer Byrne and Fiona Claffey as joint managers Peter Leahy and Alan Mangan look to shake things up in an effort to clinch the Mary Quinn Memorial Cup.

Cavan: C McCutcheon; C O'Reilly, G McGlade, C Gray; R Murphy, P Crowe, D English; R Crowe, A Cornyn; R O'Keeffe, B Sheridan, E Costin; B Boylan, C O'Reilly, A Doonan.

Westmeath: G Leahy; A Martin, G Kearney, T Durkan; L Brennan, J Rogers, M Malone; MA Foley, E Finn; L Walsh, R Kearney, J Maher; J Byrne, K Hegarty, F Claffey.

All-Ireland JFC final replay

Wicklow v New York

Croke Park, 2.30

New York's Emma Clarke, who scored all but one of her side's total tally last time out, will be watched closely by the Wicklow defence today. Corner-back Aoife Heffernan has been tasked with the job of keeping the Cavan native quiet.

However, Wicklow's attack contains the formidable Lucy Mulhall, who is the top scorer in the junior championship this season with 5-14. Laura Hogan, who held her nerve to score the late equaliser two weeks ago, gets the nod to start at corner-forward.

With nerves less likely to play a role this time around, a more free-flowing game of football is expected. New York are at a slight disadvantage, having only flown into Ireland over the past couple of days but they will be hoping they can rise to the occasion and take the cup to the Big Apple for the first time. It's been a hectic few months of travelling for them but that won't matter much if they win today.

Wicklow: E Miley; J Miley, C Byrne, A Heffernan; L Fusciardi, C McKeon, N Kelly; J Kinch, L Gilbert; AM Doran, C Deeney, M Deeney; L Hogan, L Mulhall, N Carroll.

New York: A Leyden; L Lilly, T McCullagh, J Garcia; C McBrien, C Brady, J Monaghan; L McKeon, A O'Dwyer; M O'Rourke (c),

K Roche, C Traynor; E Clarke, I Mullarkey,

M De Búrca.

Sunday Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport