Sunday 25 February 2018

Today Ulster club IFC final

(extra-time if necessary)

Craigbane (Derry) v Culloville (Armagh), Healy Park, 7.0, C Branagan (Down)

Craigbane cut a dash in the semi-final when they hit 1-14 against Monaghan side Carrickmacross, who contested a county senior final as recently as 2008.

Odds: Craigbane 4/7 Culloville 7/4 Draw 13/2

Verdict: Craigbane


All-Ireland club IHC q/f

(extra-time if necessary)

Robert Emmets (London) v Moycullen (Galway), Ruislip, 1.0, S Cleere (Kilkenny)

Verdict: Moycullen

All-Ireland club JHC q/f

(extra-time if necessary)

Fullen Gaels (Warwickshire) v Burt (Donegal), Pairc na hEireann, Birmingham, 12.30, C Lyons (Cork)

Verdict: Burt

Leinster club SHC final

(extra-time if necessary)

Oulart-The Ballagh (Wexford) v Coolderry (Offaly), Nowlan Park, 2.0, J McGrath (Westmeath). *Deferred TG4

As is the case in Munster, there will be a new name on the Leinster trophy tomorrow. However, Oulart can call on the experience of last year's final, when they let Kilkenny side O'Loughlin Gaels off the hook.

They made no mistake against the Kilkenny representatives James Stephens this year, while they also saw off Laois champions Clough-Ballacolla.

Coolderry won their second Offaly title in succession this year, but the 2010 Leinster campaign was ended by a shock defeat to Westmeath champions Raharney. They have been much better this time around and impressed against an admittedly depleted Ballyboden from Dublin, with Eoin Moore and Shaun Murphy in fine form.

However, with Keith Rossiter and Darren Stamp in excellent form in the central positions in the Oulart defence and with Liam Dunne to step down to concentrate on the Wexford job at the end of this campaign, the Model men have all the motivation they need to make history.

Odds: Oulart 8/13 Coolderry 6/4 Draw 9/1

Verdict: Oulart-The Ballagh

Leinster club JHC final

(extra-time if necessary)

Ballyfin (Laois) v St Patrick's, Ballyragget (Kilkenny), Portlaoise, 2.0, P O'Dwyer (Carlow)

A hard-fought win over Wexford outfit Horeswood means Ballyfin are well prepared for the visit of the Kilkenny side but St Patrick's wracked up 2-18 in their semi-final win, with Kevin Kelly and Conor Delaney doing most of the damage.

Verdict: St Patrick's

Munster club SHC final

(extra-time if necessary)

Na Piarsaigh (Limerick) v Crusheen (Clare), Semple Stadium, 2.0, J Ryan (Tipperary). *Live TG4

Crusheen became the first club in Clare to win back-to-back county senior titles in 12 years while Na Piarsaigh, under the guidance of former Clare All Star Sean Stack, won their first senior crown this year.

The Limerick men caught the eye when seeing off Ballygunner, when talented youngster Shane Dowling notched a brace of goals and he is well-supported by another hot prospect in Kevin Downes.

Crusheen's defence is seen as their strong point and they are backboned there by three Dillon brothers and 2009 All-Ireland U-21 winning captain Ciaran O'Doherty. Former Clare star Gerry O'Grady operates at full-forward and they'll need all his experience to prove the bookmakers wrong and collect the O'Neill Cup.

Odds: Na Piarsaigh 8/11 Crusheen 11/8 Draw 8/1

Verdict: Na Piarsaigh

Munster club JHC s/f

(extra-time if necessary)

Charleville (Cork) v Rockwell Rovers (Tipperary), Charleville, 2.0, D O'Driscoll (Limerick)

Verdict: Charleville

Cappamore (Limerick) v Ballinameela (Waterford), Cappamore, 2.0, J O'Brien (Tipperary)

Verdict: Cappamore

Munster club JFC final

(extra-time if necessary)

Dromid Pearses (Kerry) v Kildangan (Tipperary), Moyvane, 2.0, R Maloney (Limerick)

Dromid Pearses needed extra-time to get past Cork outfit Kanturk, but in Declan O'Sullivan they boast arguably the classiest operators in the country.

Verdict: Dromid Pearses.

Ulster club SFC final

(extra-time if necessary)

Crossmaglen Rangers (Armagh) v Burren (Down), Morgan Athletic Grounds, 3.15, M Higgins (Fermanagh)

Back in the 1980s, Burren were held in similar esteem to the way Cross are today, as they won five provincial titles from 1983-88. And while the Armagh men are now the undisputed kings of football in the province, Burren ran Cross to just a point when they met in the Ulster semi-final last year.

The Down men saw off Latton last time out despite finishing with 13 men, with International Rules player Kevin McKernan in good form, but Cross have the likes of Oisin McConville going for his ninth provincial title. They have repeatedly shown an ability to grind out results over the years and while Burren can go close, opting against Cross has proven to be a foolish pursuit.

Odds: Crossmaglen 1/3 Burren 3/1 Draw 15/2

Verdict: Crossmaglen

Ulster club JFC final

(extra-time if necessary)

Cremartin (Monaghan) v Derrytresk (Tyrone), Morgan Athletic Grounds, 1.30, G Walsh (Antrim)

Cremartin recently added the league to their Monaghan championship title with a facile win over Clones, but Derrytresk conceded just three points in their Ulster semi-final. Niall Gavin has been shooting the lights out and is tipped for big things.

Verdict: Derrytresk.

All-Ireland lADIES


Carnacon (Mayo) v Na Fianna (Dublin), Ballymahon, 2.0, MJ O'Keeffe. *Highlights TG4 5.0

Carnacon will have an opportunity to make amends for the disappointment of last year's All-Ireland final defeat when they meet Dublin and Leinster champions Na Fianna. The Mayo club won their 12th consecutive county title this year.

Verdict: Carnacon

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport