Sunday 15 September 2019

Tipp through to phase one final

Tipperary 0-10 Limerick 0-10

An injury-time free for Limerick made it a draw. Stock image
An injury-time free for Limerick made it a draw. Stock image Sportsdesk

Tipperary did enough on home turf to qualify for the phase one final of the Munster campaign.

When they went three ahead after 40 minutes thanks to a couple of frees from Kyle Shelly and an effort by Liam McCormack, they looked to be cruising but were then pushed hard. Riordan's injury-time free for Limerick made it a draw.

Scorers - Tipperary: K Shelly 0-7 (6f), R Collins 0-1, P Creedon 0-1, L McCormack 0-1. Limerick: S O'Donoghue 0-6 (5f), E Riordan 0-2 (2f), C Galvin 0-1, D Geraghty 0-1.

Tipperary: J Griffin, C McDonagh, T Condon, E Butler, J Armstrong, D Hickey, C Shanahan, P Creedon, T Tobin, L Seacy, K Shelly, B Comerford, R Collins, J Mullen, E McCarthy. Subs: C Cadell for J Mullen (HT), L McCormack for P Creedon (37), L King for R Collins (53), D King for T Tobin (57), D McCahey for L Seacy (60).

Limerick - D O'Sullivan, D Geraghty, P Dolphin, F Corcoran, C Twomey, D O'Keeffe, C Woulfe, E Riordan, M Southgate, C Hedderman, S O'Donoghue, R O'Connor, C Galvin, S Hanrahan, M Donnellan. Subs: P O'Dwyer for C Hedderman (40), J Baynham for S Hanrahan (56).

Ref - Chris Maguire (Clare).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Selection dilemma for Dublin and All-Ireland ladies football final preview

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport