Monday 20 November 2017

Three line up to challenge Treacy for Galway chair

The Chairman of Galway County Board Noel Treacy faces three challengers for his post
The Chairman of Galway County Board Noel Treacy faces three challengers for his post
Martin Breheny

Martin Breheny

Galway clubs have joined the county's hurlers in wondering who will lead them next year.

However, unlike the hurlers, who will have no input into deciding who replaces Anthony Cunningham as manager, the clubs will make their choice in an election for county chairman at the convention next Monday night.

Three contenders, John Joe Holleran (Clonbur), John Fahey (St Thomas') and Michael Regan (Loughrea) have been nominated to challenge current chairman Noel Treacy.

It's a somewhat unusual development in GAA politics, as Treacy has completed a fourth year and could, under the five-year limit for officers, serve for only another 12 months.

However, at a rather volatile time in Galway GAA, three others have been nominated, and it now remains to be seen if they all allow their names to go before the delegates; indications are that they will.

Treacy, a former Fianna Fail junior Minister who retired from politics in 2011, was chosen as Galway chairman later that year.

His election came at a time of change in Galway structures when the county board took over the running of key affairs from the football and hurling boards, which lost their autonomy under a Croke Park directive applicable on a nationwide basis.

Holleran, the current county vice-chairman and Connacht Council delegate, has been immersed in Galway football for decades, having served on various positions, including chairman of the football board.

Fahey served for several years as hurling board secretary. He was beaten by Treacy in 2011 in the election for county chairman.

Regan is chairman of the Loughrea club.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport