Tuesday 21 November 2017

the men who've tried to get mayo to the promised land since '89

John O'Mahony ('90, '91)

After reaching the 1989 final, Mayo lost the Connacht semi-final to Galway in 1990 before losing the final to Roscommon after a replay the following year. O'Mahony resigned afterwards when he was denied the opportunity to pick his own selectors.

Brian McDonald ('92)

Won a Connacht title but was famously pushed out of the job after a player revolt in 1992. One of the criticisms of his training methods was pushing cars around a car park.

Jack O'Shea ('93, '94)

The Kerry legend led Mayo to the 1993 Connacht title before Cork annihilated them in that year's All-Ireland semi-final. O'Shea departed after defeat to Leitrim in the following year's Connacht final.

Anthony Egan ('95)

Manager for just one season in 1995, with Kevin McStay as trainer. Mayo were relegated from Division 2, beat Roscommon in the Connacht semi-final before getting whipped by Galway in the final.

John Maughan ('96 - '99)

Won three Connacht titles (1996, '97, '99) and led Mayo to two All-Ireland finals, which they lost to Meath and Kerry. Maughan departed the hot seat after 1999 All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Cork.

Pat Holmes (2000 - '02)

Won the league in 2001 but had no championship success in three seasons at the helm. Mayo led the Connacht final in injury-time in 2001 before getting nailed by a late Roscommon goal.

John Maughan ('03 - '05)

In his second stint in charge, Maughan brought Mayo back to an All-Ireland final in 2004 -- having dethroned All-Ireland champions Tyrone along the way -- where they were hammered by Kerry. Mayo lost the 2005 Connacht final to Galway and Maughan walked after that year's All-Ireland quarter-final defeat to Kerry.

Mickey Moran (2006)

Mayo won that year's Connacht title before making an All-Ireland final after an epic semi-final win against Dublin. Hammered again in the final by Kerry, Moran and his trainer John Morrison controversially departed less than a month later after relations had soured between them and the Mayo County Board.

John O'Mahony ('07 - '10)

Elected to the Dail the week after his first championship match in 2007, which was a heavy defeat to Galway. Oversaw a period of transition and reconstruction but only won one Connacht title, in 2009, in four seasons. Walked after last year's qualifier defeat to Longford.

James Horan (2011 - )

The former All Star took over the Mayo reins after leading his native Ballintubber to their first county title last October.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport