Tuesday 12 December 2017

The last four number ones

He knew several bad years before Dublin finally ended the 11-year All-Ireland drought in 1974 and added two more titles in 1976-77. He won four All Star awards between 1974 and 1979, a period in which he proved himself to be an outstanding goalkeeper.



Promoted to the Dublin senior side at the age of 19 for the 1980 Leinster final, he established a record which may never be broken, playing 70 consecutive championship games, during which he won two All-Ireland titles and five All Star awards.



Having waited patiently to get his chance, he had an unusually short reign for a Dublin goalkeeper, playing for four seasons in what was a frustrating period for them as they failed to land even one Leinster title.



Like O'Leary, he made his championship debut as a 19-year-old in 2001 (a sub for the injured Byrne), but became first choice the following year. Played 52 championship games, 39 in-a-row since missing the 2004 Leinster quarter-final clash when Bryan Murphy deputised.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport