Monday 20 January 2020

The 14 pivotal moments in Dublin's All Ireland win over Mayo

Referee Maurice Deegan. Photo: Sportsfile
Michael Verney

Michael Verney

Michael Verney looks at how the final between Dublin and Mayo was won.


The rumour mill is in full flow about potential changes ahead of throw-in and in a radical move, Stephen Rochford replaces David Clarke, favourite for the goalkeeping All-Star before Saturday, with Rob Hennelly. Jim Gavin also wields the axe, with Michael Fitzsimons replacing Davy Byrne, while Paul Mannion and Paddy Andrews are given the nod ahead of two former Footballers of the Year, Michael Darragh Macauley and Bernard Brogan.

1224134 (2).jpg
Bernard Brogan of Dublin and Mayo's Aidan O'Shea following the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Final Replay match between Dublin and Mayo at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile


Hennelly's introduction isn't going as planned, with a couple of early kick-outs going astray as Dublin charge into an early lead. Their third point, a magnificent effort by Kevin McManamon from the right wing after an interception from James McCarthy on Tom Parsons, certainly lays down an early marker,

Dublin 0-3 Mayo 0-0


After conceding four scores on the bounce, Patrick Durcan finally gets Mayo on the scoresheet, and when Andy Moran is fouled by John Small it gives Cillian O'Connor another opportunity to settle early nerves. Small is blessed not to receive a black card from Maurice Deegan, however, after a hand trip - the first of many contentious decisions.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Dublin 0-4 Mayo 0-2


When presented with a goal-scoring chance Lee Keegan makes no mistake with a beautiful finish. Seamus O'Shea sets the move in motion with a neat kick pass to younger brother Aidan, who draws two Dublin defenders before laying off to the onrushing Keegan, who fires past Stephen Cluxton to send them ahead. Mayo's Jason Doherty is lucky to escape punishment in the immediate aftermath after running straight into Jonny Cooper, who is harshly black-carded just two minutes later at the other end.

Dublin goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton is beaten by Lee Keegan of Mayo. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Mayo 1-4 Dublin 0-6


Diarmuid Connolly sends over a majestic point off his left peg under intense pressure from Keegan but the black card rears its ugly head again in the first of eight injury-time minutes. After much protestation directed at Deegan by Connolly, Keegan is given his marching orders for pulling back the St Vincent's attacker before the razor-sharp Dean Rock points the resultant free.

Dublin 0-10 Mayo 1-5


Things threaten to get out of control and after long consultations with linesmen David Coldrick and Sean Hurson, Deegan decides to book both Donal Vaughan and Connolly; it looks like Small's day is over when the Laois referee deals with him individually for an incident where he looks to have taken a few swipes at Cillian O'Connor on the ground without making contact. He escapes with just a yellow card.

Dublin 0-10 Mayo 1-6


Rochford's decision to parachute Hennelly into the fray comes back to haunt him as the Breaffy netminder inexplicably drops a routine catch from a speculative Paul Flynn delivery before dragging Paddy Andrews to the ground with the goal at his mercy. A crestfallen Hennelly is black-carded; Clarke enters with the opportunity to make an immediate impact but Connolly expertly puts away the spot-kick.

Robert Hennelly of Mayo takes down Paddy Andrews of Dublin. Photo by Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile

Dublin 1-11 Mayo 1-8


Just minutes after being sprung off the bench, Macauley bounds forward before offloading to fellow sub Brogan, who dispatches in usual style. Macauley later outlines how the pair talked about that exact move on the bus journey to Croke Park.

Dublin 1-12 Mayo 1-10


With Mayo desperately trying to claw back Dublin's lead, Durcan hits an outrageous point from distance to cut the gap to one.

Dublin 1-12 Mayo 1-11


Dublin's strength in depth becomes the telling factor as Cormac Costello, the forgotten man of Dublin football, fires over two identical points within three minutes of his introduction as holes begin to appear in a Mayo defence that had resisted stoutly until this point. Costello's impact and the rampaging forward runs of Macauley help swing the game back in Dublin's favour.

Cormac Costello kicks Dublin’s final point of the game under pressure from Kevin McLoughlin (left) and Brendan Harrison in last year's All-Ireland final replay. Photo: Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Dublin 1-14 Mayo 1-11


So long the bridesmaids of Gaelic football, Mayo refuse to die and close to within a point with a brace of frees from Cillian O'Connor, but that man Costello pops up again to end an 11-minute spell without a score for Gavin's side and gives them some breathing space.

Dublin 1-15 Mayo 1-13


Barry Moran is thrown into the action at full-forward and wins a free, which Cillian O'Connor points, to leave the minimum between the sides with time almost up.

Dublin 1-15 Mayo 1-14


Fitzsimons turns down a glorious chance to hit an insurance point and leave Mayo needing a goal and instead passes to Brogan, whose shot is blocked down. Mayo work the ball down the field and Durcan is needlessly fouled by Costello, which presents O'Connor with a free to send the game into extra-time. O'Connor has been flawless from placed balls throughout the 80-plus minutes but shooting into Hill 16, he curls his shot wide at the near post. Tom Parsons has a final attempt to launch the ball into Mayo's attack but his effort is blocked as Mayo's hopes of ending the 65-year famine go up in smoke.

Full time: Dublin 1-15 Mayo 1-14


Stephen Cluxton becomes the first man to captain three Sam Maguire-winning teams and Dublin join the pantheon of great teams by securing back-to-back titles with their fourth All-Ireland in six years.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: New era for Dublin, all up for grabs in the hurling league and club final heroics

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport