Sunday 19 January 2020

Sullivan strike decisive for Faithful

Offaly 1-14 Roscommon 0-15

ROSCOMMON suffered the heartbreak of losing a third successive final as Offaly were crowned Division 4 champions at the Gaelic Grounds.

Linda Sullivan's goal midway through the second half was crucial.

Sullivan opted to go herself in a two-on-one situation as captain and dual star Siobhan Flannery offered support, and the full-forward finished brilliantly with her right boot.

That score gave Offaly a five-point lead, 1-13 to 0-11, but Roscommon dragged themselves into contention with four successive scores.

Offaly were hanging on but player of the match Flannery settled their nerves three minutes from time with her third point.

Scorers – Offaly: L Keena 0-6 (3fs), L Sullivan 1-1, M Daly 0-4 (3fs), S Flannery 0-3. Roscommon: N McHugh 0-6 (4fs), A O'Brien 0-4, R Ryan , J Higgins 0-2 each, M Freyne 0-1.

OFFALY – L Devery; M Guinan, E Dalton, H McMahon; E Corcoran, T McDonald, C McDonnell; T McManus, S Flannery; O Heavey, L Keena, E Sullivan; M Daly, L Sullivan, A Kerrigan. Sub: K Furey for E Sullivan (38).

ROSCOMMON: C Manning; S Brady, F Beirne, G Dufficy; A McLoone, S Kenny, L Fleming; J Higgins, T Taylor; J Conlon, N McHugh, J Cregg; A O'Brien, R Ryan, N Ward. Subs: L Brudell for Conlon (38), M Freyne for Ward (46).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

REF – G McMahon (Dublin)

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport