Wednesday 22 November 2017

Shine on the mark to end Clann na nGael famine

Clann na ngael 1-9 Padraig Pearses 0-11

Clann Na nGael celebrate Donal Shine’s decisive goal
Clann Na nGael celebrate Donal Shine’s decisive goal Newsdesk Newsdesk

Donie Shine's 48th-minute goal catapulted Clann na nGael, managed by former Dublin defender Paul Curran, towards their first title since 1996 at Dr Hyde Park.

The sides were deadlocked at 0-7 apiece when Ultan Harney robbed Padraig Pearses goalkeeper Adam McManus of the ball and dramatically set up Shine for the match-winning goal.

Defences dominated the opening half.

It took 13 minutes for the opening score to arrive when Pearses midfielder Niall Daly landed a good point.

Jamie Fahy then equalised for Clann from a 20th-minute free before Shine nudged his side in front from a free four minutes later.

Shine added to Clann's tally with a good point from play but Daly then eroded the deficit with a fine point from play.

McManus made a brilliant save from Johnny Dunning before Ronan Daly clipped over the equaliser.

But a superb point from Harney ensured that Clann carried a 0-4 to 0-3 lead into the interval.

The second half was more pleasing on the eye as both sides threw off the defensive shackles.

Despite frees from Fahy and Shine, Pearses pulled themselves level by the 46th minute, courtesy of scores from Seán Fahy (three frees) and substitute Shane Carty.

Shine's goal put Clann in pole position and substitute Cathal Callinan extended the lead to four points.

Pearses rallied and late points from Hubert Darcy (a free) and Ronan Daly in injury-time left just the bare minimum between the sides.

However, Tom Butler couldn't convert a late chance to force an equaliser and Clann held on for their first title in 19 years.

SCORERS - Clann nan Gael - D Shine 1-3 (2fs), J Fahy 0-2fs, U Harney, J Connaughton, C Callinan, R McManus 0-1 each. Padraig Pearses - S Fahy 0-4 (3fs), N Daly, R Daly, S Carty 0-2 each, H Darcy 0-1f.

CLANN NA NGAEL - R O'Reilly; D Flynn, G Pettit, R Gavin; J Connaughton, S Pettit, F Lennon; C Shine, D Shine; E Kenny, J Dunning, M Scally; J Fahy, R McManus, U Harney. Subs - C Callinan for Fahy (44), D Pettit for Scally (51), R Naughton for D Shine (60).

PADRAIG PEARSES - A McManus; D Murray, A Butler, E Barrett; R Daly, P Kelly, C Daly; N Carty, N Daly; E Kelly, D Duffy, A Mannion; H Darcy, T Butler, S Fahy. Subs - S Carty for Duffy (h-t), D Grehan for E Kelly (54), N Finneran for Fahy (60), E Ryan for C Daly (60).

REF - V Hardiman.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport