Monday 22 January 2018

Sheedy chooses not to gamble for Galway

Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

TIPPERARY hurling boss Liam Sheedy has refused to gamble with his selection for Sunday's All-Ireland SHC quarter-final against Galway and has kept faith with the same starting 15 who beat Offaly.

Tipp just have one positional switch in their attack, with Shane McGrath named at left half-forward and Patrick 'Bonner' Maher now at centre-forward, while relative newcomer David Young is retained in midfield to play alongside Brendan Maher.

Sheedy's men have recovered well from their opening defeat to Cork in Munster, but have yet to show the level of form which saw them push Kilkenny so close in last year's All-Ireland final.

Sunday's showdown pits Galway boss John McIntyre against his native county and he will have midfielder David Burke back after suspension. Burke replaces Adrian Cullinane in midfield, while Eanna Ryan and Cyril Donnellan replace Aidan Harte and Aongus Callanan in the forwards. Tony Og Regan is expected to continue at centre-back as John Lee has not recovered full fitness.


Meanwhile, Paudie O'Sullivan, who came off the bench in both the Munster final games against Waterford, now gets a corner-forward spot at the expense of Patrick Horgan and Cork's only other change is at left half-back, where they will have a different starter for the third consecutive game.

Shane O'Neill deputised for the hamstrung Sean Og O hAilpin for last weekend's Munster final replay but he succumbed to the same injury during the game and, with O hAilpin still not ready, Sarsfields Ray Ryan will now start at wing-back.

Jerry O'Connor is still out injured but despite coming off last Saturday with a dead leg, centre-back Ronan Curran is selected and up front Cork have retained both of their twin towers -- Aisake O hAilpin and Michael Cussen -- to face Dinny Cahill's Ulster champions.

Cork retain eight of the team that started against Antrim in the 2004 All-Ireland quarter-final, while Antrim just have three -- Karl McKeegan, Liam Watson and Johnny Campbell -- of their starters from six years ago.

Despite having a scan on a knee injury earlier this week, Clane clubman Tomas O'Connor is named in an unchanged Kildare football side who face Monaghan at Croke Park tomorrow.

Cork footballers have also named an unchanged starting 15 to take on old Munster rivals Limerick in their fourth-round qualifier in the Gaelic Grounds.

Michael Shields is named at full-back, with Graham Canty at centre-forward, a direct switch of positions from where they started in last weekend's defeat of Wexford.

Louth footballers have made one change to their side ahead of tomorrow's big qualifier clash with Dublin.

Stephen Fitzpatrick, son of manager Peter, comes in for wing-back Ronan Greene whom he replaced in the early stages of the Leinster final.

Down's footballers are boosted by the return of Daniel Hughes and Daniel McCartan to their starting line-up to face Sligo, which sees Darren O'Hagan and Aidan Carr both drop to the bench.

Sligo's footballers show one change, with Eugene Mullen, who replaced Tony Taylor at midfield during the first half of the Connacht final, retaining his place alongside Stephen Gilmartin.

CORK (SH v Antrim) -- D Og Cusack; S Murphy, E Cadogan, B Murphy; J Gardiner, R Curran, R Ryan; T Kenny, C Naughton; B O'Connor, M Cussen, N McCarthy; P O'Sullivan, A O hAilpin, K Murphy.

TIPPERARY (SH v Galway) -- B Cummins; P Stapleton, P Curran, M Cahill; D Fanning, C O'Mahony, Padraic Maher; B Maher, D Young; G Ryan, Patrick Maher, S McGrath; N McGrath, L Corbett, E Kelly.

GALWAY (SH) -- C Callanan; D Joyce, S Kavanagh, O Canning; D Barry, T Og Regan, D Collins; G Farragher, D Burke; E Ryan, C Donnellan, A Smith; D Hayes, J Canning, I Tannian.

CORK (SF v Limerick) -- A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, J O'Sullivan; J Miskella, G Canty, P Kissane; A O'Connor, A Walsh; F Goold, P O'Neill, P Kelly; D Goulding, C Sheehan, C O'Neill.

KILDARE (SF v Monaghan) -- S McCormack; P Kelly, H McGrillen, A Mac Lochlainn; M O'Flaherty, E Bolton, B Flanagan; D Flynn, D Earley; J Kavanagh, P O'Neill, T O'Connor; J Doyle, R Sweeney, E Callaghan.

LOUTH (SF v Dublin) -- N Gallagher; E McAuley, D Finnegan, J O'Brien; R Finnegan, M Fanning, S Fitzpatrick; P Keenan, B White; A Reed, A McDonnell, B Brennan; C Judge, S Lennon, JP Rooney.

DOWN (SF v Sligo) -- B McVeigh, D McCartan, D Gordon, D Rafferty; D Rooney; J Colgan, C Garvey; A Rogers, K King; D Hughes, M Poland, P McComiskey; B Coulter, J Clarke, M Clarke.

SLIGO -- P Greene; C Harrison, N McGuire, R Donovan; K Cawley, B Philips, J Davey; E Mullen, S Gilmartin; A Costello, M Breheny, E O'Hara; C McGee, A Marren, D Kelly.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport