Thursday 23 November 2017

Sharpshooter Breheny finds range to seal promotion for slick Sligo

Sligo 0-20
Roscommon 0-13

Mark Breheny and David Kelly were the main executioners as Sligo put Roscommon to the sword at Markievicz Park, as the home side confirmed their place in the Division 3 decider against Antrim.

Needing both a win and a healthy winning margin, Sligo got both as Kelly's industry and Breheny's eye for scores -- 0-7 in total -- helped the Yeats County to their fourth successive victory, with team captain Charles Harrison also impressing at corner-back.

The winners played the more fluent football in the opening half and with Kelly operating as a ball winner and provider, they were 0-5 to 0-1 ahead after 14 minutes.

And by the 34th minute, Sligo were coasting -- 0-10 to 0-5 -- as Breheny brought his first-half tally up to 0-5 and Alan Costello also scored a fine point.

But Roscommon then hit two unanswered points before the break to be within three scores of Sligo, 0-10 to 0-7.

However, Sligo controlled the second half and at one juncture, led by nine points -- 0-19 to 0-10 -- as Kelly, Costello, Kenneth Sweeney and Tony Taylor each found the range in some style.

Corner-forward John Rogers single handedly carried Roscommon's attacking threat and his four second-half pointed frees saw him end the day with eight points, one more than Sligo's sharpshooter Breheny.

Scorers -- Sligo: M Breheny 0-7 (0-3f), D Kelly 0-5 (0-1f), A Costello 0-3, K Sweeney 0-2, S Coen, S Gilmartin, T Taylor 0-1 each. Roscommon: J Rogers 0-8 (0-6f), K Mannion 0-2, D Hussey, B Higgins, D Keenan 0-1 each.

Sligo -- P Greene; C Harrison, N McGuire, R Donovan; K Cawley, M Quinn, J Davey; T Taylor, S Gilmartin; A Costello, M Breheny, G Gaughan; S Coen, K Sweeney, D Kelly Subs: S Davey for G Gaughan, E O'Hara for Coen, D Maye for K Sweeney.

Roscommon -- M Miley; S McDermott, P Domican, R Brady; C Dineen, C Cregg, C Garvey; M O'Carroll, I Kilbride; B Higgins, D Hussey, D Keenan; J Rogers, T Kelly, K Mannion. Subs: S Ormsby for I Kilbride, M Killelea for T Kelly, S Purcell for C Dineen, D Carney for B Higgins.

REF -- G McCarron (Monaghan).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport