| 7.2°C Dublin

Shane McGuigan hits seven points as Derry overcome the elements to see off Tipp

Derry 0-10 Tipperary 0-6


(stock photo)

(stock photo)


(stock photo)

Derry defeated Tipperary by four points at windswept Celtic Park to finally kick-start their league campaign with their first win of the season.

Slaughtneil's Shane McGuigan top-scored for the winners, hitting seven points including the last point of the game to confirm the home win.

On a day to forget for Tipperary, David Power's side finished with thirteen men after the dismissals of Steven O'Brien and Daire Brennan in the 52nd minute.

Despite facing a brisk first half breeze, Derry strolled in a point up at the break edging a low scoring half 0-4 to 0-3. An unholy combination of poor weather conditions and defensive football robbed the game of any attacking flair. Tipperary failed to score from play all game but free-taker Conor Sweeney ensured the visitors were well in the game in a nervy opening half.

For Derry, content to sit back and suck up any Tipperary pressure, points from Niall Toner and roving defender Niall Kennan sandwiched a pair of McGuigan frees.

A Jack Kennedy free pulled the sides level shortly after the restart, but five consecutive points after the interval laid the foundations for the Oakleaf victory. Shane McGuigan was the very heart of it.

Tipperary's outside chances of a win were wiped out completely with the untimely dismissals of O'Brien and Brennan, and with Alan Campbell also in the sin-binned it left their side playing with just twelve men mid-way through the second half.

But despite their numerical superiority, Derry retreated into their defensive shell for the remainder of the game. Rory Gallagher's men went 20 minutes without a score before star man McGuigan swung over the last point of the game in injury to confirm Derry's maiden victory.

The Oakleaf County host Louth next, while opponents Tipp face a daunting game at Semple Stadium to unbeaten Cork.

Scorers- Derry: S McGuigan 0-7 (0-1 fs), L McGondrick 0-1, N Keenan 0-1, N Toner 0-1

Tipperary: C Sweeney 0-3 fs. J Kennedy 0-2 fs, K O'Halloran 0-1f

Derry: O Lynch 8, C McWilliams 6, B Rogers 7, L McGoldrick 7, S Downey 6, P McGrogan 6, N Keenan 7, C McFaul 8, C McKaigue 7, E Bradley 6, P Cassidy 6, D Tallon 6, B Heron 6, S McGuigan 8, N Toner 7

Subs: A Doherty 6 for P Cassidy (58), C Bradley 6 for E Bradley (63), D Cassidy 6 for N Toner (70), C Doherty 6 for B Heron (70), C McAtamney 6 for D Tallon (70)

Tipperary: E Comerford 8, A Campbell 6, J Meagher 7, C O'Shaughnessy 6, E Moloney 6, R Kiely 6, D Brennan 6, S O'Brien 6, C Kennedy 6, K Fahey 6, J Kennedy 6, B Fox 7, L Boland 6, C Sweeney 7, K O'Halloran 6

Subs: J Nyland 6 for L Boland (HT), R Quigley 6 for R Kiely (HT), A Moloney 6 for C Kennedy (50), C Kennedy 6 for K O’Halloran (61), T Fitzgerald 6 for K Fahey (70)

Referee: J Henry (Mayo)

Online Editors