Tuesday 23 January 2018

Sexton stars as Kilmurry ease to victory

Kilmurry Ibrickane 2-13 Cratloe 0-6

Kilmurry Ibrickane won by a large margin at Cusack Park Stock photo: Sportsfile
Kilmurry Ibrickane won by a large margin at Cusack Park Stock photo: Sportsfile
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

At the second time of asking, Kilmurry Ibrickane claimed the Clare football crown in front of 3,722 fans at Cusack Park, Ennis yesterday.

This replay saw Cratloe struggle to contain Kilmurry in a low-scoring opening half and in the second half, they were completely outclassed by a hungrier and better-drilled opposition.

Kilmurry held the aces at the break and led by 0-6 to 0-4.

After the half-time break, the west Clare outfit threw off the shackles and opened up the game.

Goalkeeper Ian McInerney landed a 40m free to increase their lead and when Marty McMahon found the net in the 39th minute Kilmurry were 1-7 to 0-4 in front.

Moments later midfielder Mark McCarthy kicked a fine point and the crowd sensed that the Jack Daly Cup was heading west. Keelan Sexton led Kilmurry's attack, adding a further few vital scores.

Sexton's accurate left boot and Shane Hickey's fist grabbed two scores as Cratloe were left reeling.

With five minutes of injury time to be added, the outcome was clear.

Veteran forward Johnny Daly was introduced at the beginning of added time and when he was pulled to the ground bearing down in front of goal, the referee awarded a penalty. And Sexton duly obliged with the spot-kick.

Scorers - Kilmurry Ibrickane: K Sexton 1-4 (0-1 f, 1-0 pen), M McMahon 1-0, I McInerney 0-2 (2fs), S Hickey, M McCarthy 0-2 each, P O'Dwyer, M O'Dwyer, M Hogan (0-1) each. Cratloe: C McInerney 0-4 (3f), M Murphy, S Collins 0-1 (f).

Kilmurry Ibrickane - I McInerney; M McMahon, D Hickey, M Kileen; D Sexton, C Morissey, D Callinan; M McCarthy, K King; M O'Dwyer, S Hickey, M Hogan; K Sexton, P O'Dwyer, E Coughlan. Subs: N Downes for Callinan (42), N Hickey for Downes inj (48), E Talty for Morissey (56), J Daly for M O'Dwyer (69).

Cratloe- P DeLoughrey; S Chaplin, B Duggan, L Markham; M Ógie Murphy, M Hawes, E Boyce; C Ryan, J Galvin; A McFaddan, S Collins, S Gleeson; C McInerney, P Collins, D Collins. Subs: C Cooney for McFaddan inj (13), S McHugh for Gleeson (41).

Ref: P Cosgrove (Corofin).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport