| 9.4°C Dublin

Seoighe hits late winner for Galway

Mairtin Seoighe from the Aran Islands scored with the last kick of the game to give Galway victory in this quarter-final in Tuam last night.

A late '45' from captain and former Mayo senior goalkeeper, Fintan Ruddy, and a splendid goal from Paul Doherty looked like sending the tie to extra-time before Seoighe struck the match winner.

Former Galway hurler Andy Coen impressed at centre-back and helped the Tribesmen lead by 0-6 to 0-2 at the interval, with Eoin Phoil landing some good scores.

A pair of frees from Doherty just after the restart reignited the Mayo challenge before the score of the match was drilled over the bar by Galway wing-back Colm Hands with 15 minutes remaining.

Two minutes later a fine score from the tightest of angles from Barry Donnellan gave Galway a five-point advantage, but Mayo rallied and drew level before Seoighe's late score sent the Tribsmen through to a semi-final date with Roscommon.

Scorers -- Galway: E Phoil 0-5 (0-4f), C Colman, JP Steede, B Donnellan, C Hands, M Seoighe 0-1 each. Mayo: P Doherty 1-5 (0-4f), F Ruddy (0-1 '45') 0-1.

Galway -- P Lally; E O'Sullivan, P Gleeson, K Kelly; C Hands, A Coen, J Burke; R O'Neill, R Flynn; P Seoighe, C Coleman, M Murphy; E Phoil, JP Steede, B Donnellan. Subs: T Joyce for Kelly (30), M Aspin for P Seoighe (36), M Seoighe for Steede (42).

Mayo -- F Ruddy; O Feeney, D O'Dea, A Noone; D Costello, C Boyle, D Prendergast; F Burke, T Morley; D Burke, D O'Connor, P Doherty; J Rafter, K Glynn, M Conroy. Subs: J McAndrew for Glynn (22); D Gallagher for O'Connor (h-t); L Lydon for Rafter (44); C English for Prendergast (60).

Ref -- O Kelly (Roscommon).

St Brendan's 1-14
High School Clonmel 0-11
Frewen Cup (JFC) Final

KILLARNEY kingpins St Brendan's gained some measure of compensation for their Hogan Cup final defeat when they put in a powerful second-half performance to beat the Clonmel outfit in Mallow yesterday.

Scorers -- St Brendan's College: J Aherne 0-6, B O'Shea 1-2, K Murphy (0-1 '45'), S Keane, K McCarthy, N Duggan, C Keane, J Spillane 0-1 each. Clonmel CBS: L Whelan 0-5 (0-5f), A McGrath 0-2, A McGuire, B Maher, T Kirwin, K Kirwin 0-1 each.

St Brendan's -- D Cronin; B Walsh, M Moynihan, M Egan; C Fitzgerald, J Devane, K Fitzgerald; S Keane, K Murphy; D O'Donoghue, K McCarthy, C Lawlor; J Ahern, B O'Shea, N Duggan. Subs: C Keane for C Lawlor, D O'Leary for Kieran Fitzgerald, J Spillane for N Duggan

Clonmel CBS -- E Comerford; E Kehoe, R Mulcahy, K Browne; B Condon, A McGuire, D Mulcahy; B Maher, B Walsh; K Fahy, D Devaney, T Kirwin; J Lonergan, L Whelan, A McGrath. Subs: M Maher for J Lonergan, K Kirwin for K Fahey.

Ref -- N Barrett (Cork).

Irish Independent