Saturday 7 December 2019

Scintillating Sweeney points way for Premier

Tipperary 1-16 Clare 1-15, NFL Division 4 final

Tipperary's Conor Sweeney in action against Clare's Dean Ryan
Tipperary's Conor Sweeney in action against Clare's Dean Ryan
Clare's Kevin Hartnett is tackled by Tipperary's Barry Grogan
Tipperary's Philip Austin is tackled by Clare's Shane Hickey
Tipperary's George Hannigan in action against Clare's Cathal O'Connor
Tipperary captain Paddy Codd lifts the cup

Conor Sweeney played a starring role at Croke Park, scoring 1-8, as Tipperary ended a memorable campaign with silverware.

The sides were level nine times during a thrilling decider, but it was Sweeney's accuracy and opportunism that swung it for Peter Creedon's side.

Sweeney, Barry Grogan and Ian Fahey got Tipp off to a strong start, but they fell behind when the Banner hit three points in two minutes late in the opening quarter. Shane McGrath and David Tubridy were the men with the golden touch, steering over a string of scores to reward the outstanding efforts of skipper Gary Brennan in the middle of the field.

Full-back Kevin Hartnett was another outstanding Clare performer, denying Sweeney a goal with a superb block. Another Hartnett block had a costly outcome, however, in the 19th minute, when the ball rebounded to Sweeney, who rifled a shot to the net from eight yards.

George Hannigan's score eased the Premier men three points clear, but just a point separated the sides at the break, after Ciaran Russell and Cathal O'Connor had landed quality points. Tipp led by 1-7 to 0-9 at that stage, but they were rocked by a Martin O'Leary goal eight minutes into the second half.

Tipp's Brian Fox thought he had regained the lead when he drilled the ball to the net, but referee Noel Mooney failed to allow the advantage, and Tipp went back level with frees from Sweeney and Barry Grogan.

They traded points in quick succession, Clare going level for the eighth time with a superb Tubridy effort with 10 minutes to play. But Tipp had their own supreme finisher Sweeney steering over the lead point from a 64th-minute free as the contest built to a gripping climax.

That score was cancelled out immediately by McGrath, but Sweeney was to have the last say, hitting two late points to seal the title for his side. The fact that he missed a golden chance to make victory an absolute certainty will be forgiven by his team-mates, the Ballyporeen man scuffing his shot after Seamus Grogan's effort had come back off an upright.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Scorers – Tipperary: C Sweeney 1-8 (0-4f), B Grogan 0-4 (2f), R Kiely, S O'Brien, G Hannigan, I Fahey 0-1 each. Clare: M O'Leary 1-0, D Tubridy 0-7 (4f), McGrath 0-4, S Hickey, C O'Connor, J Malone, C Russell 0-1 each.

Tipperary: P Fitzgerald; J Coghlan, P Codd, A Morrissey; A Kiely, P Acheson, D Leahy; S O'Brien, G Hanningan; P Austin, I Fahey, B Fox; C Sweeney, M Quinlivan, B Grogan. Subs: S Grogan for Austin (43), C McDonald for Morrissey (45), C O'Riordan for Fahey (61)

Clare: P DeLoughrey; D Ryan, K Hartnett, M McMahon; S Hickey, G Kelly, E Coughlan; G Brennan, C O'Connor; S McGrath, J Malone, C Russell; M O'Leary, S Brennan, D Tubridy. Subs: M Murphy for Hickey (46), P McMahon for Brennan (50), J Hayes for DeLoughrey (56), R Donnelly for Malone (68)

Referee: N Mooney (Cavan).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Sunday Indo Sport

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport