Tuesday 10 December 2019

Ruthless Tyrone claim title

Tyrone 4-11
Monaghan 1-10

Francis Mooney

Tyrone retained the Dr McKenna Cup with a convincing win over Monaghan at the Athletic Grounds.

Kieran Hughes goaled after 12 minutes, but goals from Mark Donnelly (28) and Stephen O'Neill (36) sent Tyrone in with a 2-7 to 1-4 lead, the Farney down to 14-men following Ronan McNally's red card in stoppage time. Monaghan conceded a third to Donnelly within three minutes of the restart and Tyrone killed the game off in stoppage time with a Peter Harte penalty.

Scorers – Tyrone: Mark Donnelly 2-0, S O'Neill 1-3 (2f), P Harte 1-1 (pen, 1f), C McAliskey 0-3, S Cavanagh (f), P Kane, R McNamee, K Gallagher 0-1 each. Monaghan: K Hughes 1-1, P Finlay 0-4 (4f), O Duffy, D Hughes (1 '45') 0-2 each, C McManus (f) 0-1.

Tyrone: N Morgan; A McCrory, C Clarke, C McCarron; R McNamee, Joe McMahon, D McBride; P Kane, S Cavanagh; T McCann, P Harte, Mattie Donnelly; C McAliskey, S O'Neill, Mark Donnelly. Subs: Justin McMahon for Clarke (28), R McKenna for McNamee (51), K Gallagher for McCann (54), M Penrose for O'Neill (61), B Tierney for Cavanagh (67)

Monaghan: M Keogh; R McNally, F Kelly, K Duffy; D Mone, D Hughes, M McElroy; D Clerkin, O Lennon; O Duffy, P Finlay, S McQuillan; K Hughes, C McManus, D Malone. Subs: S Smith for Malone (8), G Doogan for McQuillan (41), N McAdam for Clerkin (46), C Galligan for McElroy (54), P McArdle for Finlay (57).

Referee: B Cassidy (Derry).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Sunday Indo Sport

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport