Thursday 23 November 2017

Ruthless Roscommon ease through

Roscommon 1-18 Sligo 0-8

Roscommon beat Sligo by a thirteen-point margin Stock photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach / SPORTSFILE
Roscommon beat Sligo by a thirteen-point margin Stock photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach / SPORTSFILE Newsdesk Newsdesk

Ruthless Roscommon scored all but two points of their 1-18 total from play as they proved far too strong for Sligo in Markievicz Park.

Having knocked out Galway in the previous round, the Rossies made light work of a disappointing Yeats County challenge, and were able to replace several senior players late on as they turned their attention towards a final against Mayo.

The visitors got a pre-game boost with the news that Ultan Harney was fit to return following a lengthy spell on the sidelines.

Darragh Cummins did a fine man-marking job on Harney, but Roscommon had quality right around the field and led by 1-7 to 0-5 at half-time.

The goal came from Kevin Farrell on 24 minutes, as the wing-forward powered through the middle before unleashing a shot to the bottom corner.

Scores from Jamie Gillen, Jason Perry and the lively Cathal Henry kept the hosts interested for the first period, but Roscommon powered clear in the third quarter.

Full-back Sean Mullolly was named man of the match for a dominant display, while Henry Walsh and Hubert Darcy kicked seven points between them in the second period, and Diarmuid Murtagh took his tally to five as the reigning champions finished 13 points clear.

Scorers - Roscommon: D Murtagh 0-5 (1f), H Walsh, H Darcy (1f) 0-4 each, K Farrell 1-0, B Stack, B Kelly, C Callinan, C Compton, F Lennon 0-1 each; Sligo: C Henry 0-5 (3fs), J Gillen, J Perry, D Kilcoyne (1f) 0-1 each

Roscommon - S Mannion; J Connaughton, S Mullolly, F Lennon; R Daly, K Bierne, B Stack; T O'Rourke, C Compton; K Farrell, H Walsh, U Harney; D Murtagh, H Darcy, C Callinan. Subs: B Kelly for Harney (48), K Smith for Murtagh (54), D Carleton for Callinan (56), R Raftery for O'Rourke (59), D Neary for Bierne (60), A Kielty for Compton (60)

Sligo - E McDonagh; S Keenan, C Heraghty, L Henry; JF Carr, D Cummins, G O'Kelly-Lynch; K McDonnell, K Henry; J McGarry, C Breheny, C Henry; D Kilgallon, J Gillen, J Perry. Subs: G Brady for Kilgallon (39), C Gilmartin for Perry (50), P McNamara for L Henry (53), D Kilcoyne for Gillen (57)

Ref - E O'Grady (LM)

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport