Wednesday 13 December 2017

Richie McCarthy, James O'Donoghue and Davy Fitzgerald big winners of Munster GAA awards

Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald celebrating after winning the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship
Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald celebrating after winning the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship
Kerry star James O'Donoghue is the Munster footballer of the year
Ritchie McCarthy

Limerick star hurler Richie McCarthy, James O'Donoghue of Kerry and Clare Senior Hurling Manager Davy Fitzgerald have been named the winners of the Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards 2013.

Limerick's Full Back Richie McCarthy was outstanding for this year's Munster Hurling Champions.

Kerry's James O'Donoghue has been selected as the Senior Footballer of the year. The Killarney Legion  won an All Star in his first full championship season.
 Davy Fitzgerald was named Manager of the Year for his leadership of the Clare All Ireland Winning Senior Hurling Team.

Speaking on the announcement of these winners, Bord Gáis Energy Managing Director David Kirwan said: "I am delighted that the hard work and achievements of both James O'Donoghue and Richie McCarthy has been recognised. Both players have been outstanding for their respective counties over the last few years. And I would also like to congratulate Davy Fitzgerald on his well-deserved award for his exceptional achievements and work as manager to the Clare Senior Hurling team".

Also speaking on the announcement of these awards Robert Frost, Chairman of Munster GAA said "Richie McCarthy and James O'Donoghue contributed hugely to their teams march through Munster to secure titles for Limerick and Kerry respectively. The success of a young Clare team in winning All-Ireland Senior honours following a memorable hurling season is testament to the leadership of Davy Fitzgerald and he is a deserving winner of Manager of the Year"


The full list of Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Sports Star of the Year Awards are as follows:


Minor Hurling - Ronan Lynch (Limerick)


Minor Football - Jack Savage (Kerry)


Under 21 Hurling - Colm Galvin (Clare)


Under 21 Football - Brian Hurley (Cork)


Intermediate Hurling - Darragh Egan (Tipperary)


Junior Football - Ruari Deane (Cork)


Camogie Award - Michelle Casey (Limerick)


Ladies Football - Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Kerry)


Handballer of Year - Colin Crehan (Clare)


Service to Refereeing - Michael Keane (Cork)


Service in Education - Liam Hodnett (Cork)


Media Award - Paddy Finucane (Tipperary)


Distinguished Service to the GAA - Padraig Mac Mathúna (Clare)


Special Merit Award - Sean Power (Waterford)


Hall of Fame Football - Mike Sheehy (Kerry)


Hall of Fame Hurling - John Galvin (Waterford)


Club of Year - Loughmore-Castleiney (Tipperary)


Senior Hurler of Year - Richie McCarthy (Limerick)


Senior Footballer of Year - James O'Donoghue (Kerry)


Manager of Year - Davy Fitzgerald (Clare)

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport