Tuesday 12 December 2017

Revealed: The 2017 Independent.ie Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup first round draws

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Holders UCD will face either GMIT or IT Sligo in the first round of the 2017 Independent.ie Sigerson Cup.

The south Dublin college, who beat DCU by two points in last year's decider, will once again be able to call on Footballer of the Year Jack McCaffrey, who captained the side last season.

Last year's runners up have been handed a tough first round draw away to Queen's University.

There are three preliminary round ties, with the winners progressing into the first round.

In the Fitzgibbon Cup, holders Mary I have been draw in a group with GMIT, DIT and IT Carlow. The top two from each group progress to the quarter-finals and there are four groups.

Here are the draws in full:

Sigerson Cup

Preliminary Round


Garda College vs CIT

GMIT vs IT Sligo

First round

Maynooth vs UL


Ulster University Jordanstown vs Garda/CIT

UCD vs GMIT/IT Sligo


St Mary's vs NUIG/TCD

IT Tralee vs IT Carlow

UCC vs DCU St Pat's


Fitzgibbon Cup

Top two in each group qualify for quarter finals


Group A: IT Carlow, Mary I, GMIT, DIT

Group B: UL, NUIG, DCU St Patrick's, CIT

Group C: DCU Dochas Eireann, LIT, Trinity, WIT

Group D: UCD, UCC, University Ulster

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport