Sunday 18 March 2018

Reidy swoops to clinch title glory for Drom

Drom-Broadford 0-12
Newcastle West 0-10
(Limerick SFC final replay; after extra-time)

Michael Reidy was the hero as his two late points in the second period of extra-time gave Drom-Broadford their sixth Limerick football title after a gripping replay against Newcastle West at the Gaelic Grounds.

The sides were level at 0-7 each at the end of normal time and it was 0-9 each at the end of the first half of extra-time.

Newcastle West edged in front in the second period until Reidy struck in the final moments of the game, which concluded with Stephen Nix of Newcastle West being show a second yellow card 10 seconds from the end.

In a remarkably low-scoring first half Drom-Broadford had the opening points from Pat Donnelly, a free after four minutes, and Reidy after 13.

A superb point from centre-back Stephen Nix and a free by Mike Quilligan had Newcastle West level after 20 minutes before Derry McCarthy nudged Drom-Broadford back in front.

Thomas Quilligan (free) and Ian Corbett had points inside the last minute and a half to give Newcastle West a single point lead at the interval, 0-4 to 0-3.

Newcastle West had five wides in the opening half compared to one for Drom-Broadford.

Stephen Kelly put two between them straight from the restart but frees by Reidy and Donnelly made it five points each and they were level again at six apiece.

Two minutes from the end Jamie Lee looked to have won it for Newcastle West but in the final seconds a superb point from 45 yards by Garrett Noonan brought the game into extra-time.

Reidy had a point inside 30 seconds in extra-time but Paul Hannon and a free by Thomas Quilligan had Newcastle West out in front once more, before a Donnelly free tied it all up again.

Scorers -- Drom-Broadford: M Reidy 0-6 (2f), P Donnelly 0-3 (3f), G Noonan (f), M Brosnan, D McCarthy 0-1 each. Newcastle West: T Quilligan 0-3 (3f), P Hannon, S Nix, I Corbett, S Kelly, M Quilligan (f), J Lee, G Cremin 0-1 each.

Drom-Broadford -- K Noonan; D O'Leary, T McLoughlin, C Fahy; G Noonan, E Barry, M Boyce; S Buckley, J Stokes; M Brosnan, P Donnelly, D McCarthy; R Lynch, G Egan, M Reidy. Sub: B Noonan for Buckley (29).

Newcastle West -- JJ Sheehy; M O'Keeffe, D Woods, M Dowling; S Browne, S Nix, S McAuliffe; I Corbett, M McMahon; Stephen Kelly, S Lyons, M Quilligan; T Quilligan, J Kelly, J Lee. Subs: Shane Kelly for Lyons (45), G Cremin for J Kelly (50), P Hannon for Dowling (52), B O'Doherty for McAuliffe (55), J Kelly for Cremin (e-t), Lyons for McMahon (e-t), J Kelly for Stephen Kelly (e-t).

Ref -- M Meade (Ballylanders)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport