Sunday 25 February 2018

Red Hand rout Derry on Barton's debut

Tyrone 1-18 Derry0-10

Brennan: got on Tyrone scoresheet
Brennan: got on Tyrone scoresheet

Damien Barton's first game as Derry boss was a day to forget as his side slumped to an 11-point defeat to a youthful Tyrone side in the O'Fiaich Cup semi-final at Crossmaglen yesterday.

Patrick Quinn scored the only goal of the game early in the first half, while Ronan O'Neill top-scored with seven points.

Tyrone will meet either Armagh or Louth in next weekend's decider, the other semi-final postponed due to weather conditions, but re-fixed for tomorrow evening.

Derry debutant Shane Mulgrew opened the scoring from a free, but Tyrone were in front by the fifth minute when Patrick Quinn grabbed a goal.

Points from O'Neill and Cathal McShane helped the Red Hand to a 1-7 to 0-6 interval lead, but Derry started the second half strongly, cutting the deficit to a single point with scores from Mark Lynch and Shane Heavron.

Tyrone seized back control, however, with their workrate, energy and support play simply outstanding at times.

Derry's task became all the more difficult when they lost influential pair Bell and McBride, and it was one-way traffic in the direction of the Oak Leaf end.

Goalkeeper Niall Morgan drilled over three long-range frees, and O'Neill continued to hit the target.

Lee Brennan also got his name on the scoresheet, and it was a cruise to the finish, with Derry going 18 minutes with out a score, and hitting just two points in the final quarter, both from Mulgrew.

Scorers - Tyrone: R O'Neill 0-7 (5f); P Quinn 1-2; N Morgan 0-3 (2f, 1 '45); C McShane 0-2; C McCann, R Donnelly, P Harte, L Brennan 0-1 each. Derry: S Mulgrew 0-4 (3f); R Bell 0-3 (1 '45); M Lynch 0-2 (1f); S Heavron 0-1

Tyrone - M O'Neill; A MacRory, P Hampsey, HP McGeary; T McCann, C Clarke, J Munroe; C McCann, R Donnelly; C Meyler, R O'Neill, N Sludden; P Quinn, H Og Conlan, C McShane. Subs: P Harte for Conlan, N Morgan for M O'Neill, Conlan for Meyler, Brennan for McShane, D Mulgrew for Quinn, Meyler for Munroe

Derry - T Mallon; J Morgan, D McBride, R Ferris; G McKinless, B McGoldrick, SL McGoldrick; C Murphy, B Og McGilligan; M Lynch, S Heavron, N Forrester; S Mulgrew, R Bell, G McWilliams

Subs: E McGuckin for McWilliams, D Heavron for B McGoldrick, C McFaul for SL McGoldrick, L McGoldrick for McGilligan, B Herron for Lynch, C Mullan for Forrester, E McNicholl for Mallon, B Og McAlary for Bell (BC), J Kielt for McBride (BC)

Referee - P Hughes (Armagh)

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport