Tuesday 20 March 2018

Reape leads way in Mayo goal blitz

Mayo 4-12 Leitrim 0-15

Mayo went on a goal spree to end any hopes of a Leitrim comeback Stock photo: Sportsfile
Mayo went on a goal spree to end any hopes of a Leitrim comeback Stock photo: Sportsfile
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

A Mayo goal rush in Carrick-on-Shannon ended Leitrim's hopes of Connacht U-21 final place against Roscommon.

Leitrim surged into an 0-3 to no score lead in the opening six minutes after Pearse Dolan, Conor Gaffney and Kenny Cox scored.

But Mayo took control when full-forward Brian Reape palmed home a 21st-minute goal.

Four minutes later Fionan Duffy was fouled for a penalty as he bore down on the Leitrim posts and Diarmuid O'Connor converted the spot kick.

Leitrim managed to stay in contention prior to the break as Jack Heslin and Pearse Dolan shot a point apiece but Mayo led by 2-5 to 0-7 at half-time.

After Conor Loftus added an early second-half point, Duffy shot a 35th-minute goal that increased the lead to nine points.

When Loftus struck for another Mayo goal nine minutes later Leitrim's comeback hopes were dashed.

The home side managed to close the gap in the 58th minute after Conor Gaffney pointed from a free and play, while sub Conor Dolan also hit the target from a free.

In the space of another minute Duffy and Ryan O'Rourke traded points.

Fergal Boland widened the margin, but Gaffney converting three frees before Dolan concluded the scoring.

Scorers - Mayo: B Reape 1-2, C Loftus 1-5 (f), F Duffy 1-2(f), D O' Connor 1-0 (pen), F Boland 0-2, M Ruane 0-1. Leitrim: C Gaffney 0-6 (5fs), P Dolan 0-3, D Farrell 0-2, K Cox, J Heslin, R O'Rourke, C Dolan (f) 0-1 each

Mayo - M Flanagan; E Doran, S Cunniffe, C Harrison; D Kenny, M Hall, J Kelly; V Roughneen; S Coen; F Boland, C Loftus, C O'Connor; M Plunkett, B Reape, F O'Duffy. Subs: M Ruane for Roughneen (19), S Akram for Kelly (h/t), E O'Dongohue for Hall (47), J Lyons for Loftus (47), T J Byrne for O'Connor (55), M Murray for Coen (57)

Leitrim - D McKiernan; K McHugh, J Mitchell, C Cullen, F McTague, K Keegan; D McGovern, P Dolan; K Cox, C Gaffney, D Farrell; R O'Rourke, C McCauley, J Heslin. Subs: L Ryan for Mitchell (25), C Dolan for McCauley (39), O Madden for McGovern (47), D Byrne for Farrell (56)

Ref - J Gilmartin (Sligo)

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport