Monday 19 March 2018

Quinlivan on song to book semi-final date with Banner

DAVID Power's Tipperary eased past Waterford in this Cadbury Munster U-21 FC quarter-final.

The Premier county had 11 points to spare against the Deise, who had little or no work done before the game, according to sources. Tipp's reward is a semi-final showdown with Clare back here on March 27.

The hosts were made to work for their win last night by dogged Waterford before Philip Quirke came off the bench in the second half to kick four classy points.

Tipp led by 1-8 to 0-5 at half-time in front of 402 spectators. Tipp full-forward Michael Quinlivan registered 1-5 in the first half, including a goal in the 15th minute.

Bill Maher supplied the pass for Quinlivan's goal and the Clonmel Commercials player hammered a rising drive into the roof of the net.

Maher was also on target with a first-half point while Steven O'Brien and Liam McGrath also raised white flags. Paul Whyte was Waterford's sole scorer in the first half and the Kilrossanty clubman, a senior player for the Deise, bagged his side's only point from play before half-time.

Waterford trailed by six at the break but a brace of points from Gavin Nugent brought the visitors to within four points. But Waterford managed just one more point and Tipp's progress was secured.

Scorers – Tipperary: M Quinlivan 1-5 (0-2f), L McGrath (2f), P Quirke 0-4 each, S O'Brien, B Maher, J Lonergan, M O'Sullivan 0-1 each. Waterford: P Whyte 0-7 (6f), G Nugent 0-2.

TIPPERARY – E Comerford; D Kearney, N O'Sullivan, C O'Sullivan; P O'Meara, S Kennedy, J O'Callaghan; S O'Brien, D Fitzell; B Maher, D Leahy, S Leahy; L McGrath, M Quinlivan, B Hewitt. Subs: M O'Sullivan for O'Callaghan (37), P Quirke for Hewitt (46), N O'Meara for P O'Meara (51), J Lonergan for Maher (54), P Dalton for Fitzell (59).

WATERFORD – S Barron; L O'Corraoin, D Foley, C Sheridan; R Dunford, R Sheehan, D Hallahan; K Phelan, R O Ceallaigh; G Nugent, D Breathnach, K Sheehan; M Kiely, P Whyte, K Power. Subs: C Kindregan for Kiely (42), C Burke for O Corraoin (60), P Connors for Dunford (60), L O'Farrell for Sheehan (60).

Ref – J Bermingham (Cork).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport