Friday 20 April 2018

Power surge the key for Deise

Waterford 0-11 Tipperary 0-9

Waterford qualified for the semi-finals after a hard-fought encounter at Walsh Park yesterday. The finishing of the Deise forwards told in the end, as Patrick Hurney and Kevin Power registered three points apiece.

It was the visitors who settled first with James Egan, Peter Acheson and Barry Grogan scoring to give Tipp a three-point lead after six minutes.

Driven on by the excellent Shane Briggs, Waterford were soon back on level terms with Kevin Power, Mark Ferncombe and Brian Wall scoring.

Tipp did nudge back in front but Waterford finished the half strongly and a great score from Briggs left them one point in front at the break.

Waterford started the second half well as points from Eamonn Walsh and Power put them into a three-point lead.

Tipperary did have their moments but Waterford held on for a two-point victory with Hurney's three second-half points proving decisive.

scorers -- Waterford: K Power, P Hurney 0-3 each, M Ferncombe, B Wall, J Hurney, S Briggs, E Walsh 0-1 each. Tipperary: J Egan, C Sweeney (0-1f) , B Grogan 0-2 each, P Acheson, B Mulvihill (f) S Grogan 0-1 each.

Waterford -- K Cotter; C Phelan, T O'Gorman, K Connery; E Walsh, S Briggs, J Hurney; B Phelan, T Prendergast; W Hennessy, K Power, B Wall; M Ferncombe, P Hurney, S Fleming. Subs: G Kelly for Cotter, J Phelan for Walsh, J Walsh for Connery, M O'Gorman for B Phelan, J Veale for Fleming.

Tipperary -- P Fitzgerald; D Buckley, P Codd, A Morrissey; C McGrath, L Egan, C Dillon; G Hannigan, B Jones; P Acheson, S Grogan, B Mulvihill; J Egan, S Hahessy, B Grogan. Subs: A Matassa for Hahessy, C Sweeney for Egan, D Dwyer for S Grogan.

Ref -- C Lane (Cork).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport