Tuesday 16 January 2018

Oz-bound Glass guides Pat's to glory

St Patrick's Maghera 5-7 St Paul's Bessbrook 1-9 MacRory Cup Final

The St Patrick's College Maghera squad celebrate with the McRory Cup (SPORTSFILE)
The St Patrick's College Maghera squad celebrate with the McRory Cup (SPORTSFILE)
Oisin McWilliams, St Patrick's College Maghera, is tackled by Cormac McDonnell, St Pauls Bessbrook (SPORTSFILE)
Ray McSherry, St Pauls Bessbrook, is tackled by Keelan Feeney, St Patrick's College Maghera (SPORTSFILE)

As he basked in the euphoria of a 15th triumph in the competition for St Patrick's College Maghera, captain Conor Glass switched the focus to his imminent career in the Australian Football League with Melbourne club Hawthorn.

"Memories are made of this," beamed Glass. "This means so much to me. I never thought I would get a third MacRory medal so this is a real bonus.

"But most importantly, it is a triumph for the team - an achievement that we can all share in. Obviously I am looking forward to going to Hawthorn but my involvement with St Patrick's and Glen will stay with me forever. I have enjoyed every minute," added the midfielder.

Glass produced an inspirational first-half performance that laid the groundwork for this latest St Patrick's coup.

By half-time they led by 4-4 to 0-5, with Shane McGuigan getting a brace of goals and Francis Kearney and Paddy Quigg also netting.

St Paul's managed to dig deep into their reserves of character after the break to rein in their opponents.

Liam Kerr and Shea Loye sparked the Bessbrook team's recovery, with Kerr's 40th-minute goal a shot in the arm.

However, the outcome was never in doubt and Conall Darragh converted a late penalty to restore gloss to the scoreboard for St Patrick's.

SCORERS - S Patrick's: S McGuigan 2-4, F Kearney 1-1 , P Quigg, C Darragh 1-0 each, O McWilliams 0-2; St Paul's: S Loye 1-3 (0-1f), L Kerr 0-3 (2fs),J Og Burns, D O'Hagan, N McGuinness 0-1 each. ST Patrick's Maghera - S Cassidy; O McKeever, P Turner, K Feeney; P McCormack, S Downey, C McAllister; C Glass, J Doherty; P Kearney, P Quigg, O McWilliams; C Darragh, S McGuigan, F Kearney. Subs: D McPeake for Quigg (52), T Walsh for McKeever (52), M Mullaan for McWilliams (57), C Mulholland for McAllister (58), F Higgins for P Kearney (60).

St Paul's Bessbrook - M Murphy; N McGuinness, D Loye, C McDonnell; E McCabe, R Gaskin, C Clarke; J Og Burns, D O'Hagan 0-1; R Keenan, C Magennis, A Boyle; L Kerr 0-3 (2f), S Loye), R McSherry. Subs: S Finnegan for Keenan (36), J Durnin for O'Hagan (39), R Hughes for N Magennis (45).

Ref - M McNally (Monaghan).

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport