Thursday 5 December 2019

O'Sullivan points the way for Templenoe

Templenoe 0-14 St Breckan's 0-5

Seán Sheehan put over the opening point for the fancied Kerry side inside 90 seconds (stock photo)
Seán Sheehan put over the opening point for the fancied Kerry side inside 90 seconds (stock photo)

Templenoe struggled with their opponents' pressure in the opening 20 minutes before Stephen O'Sullivan ignited his team-mates who became the fifth Kerry club to achieve a Munster Intermediate and Junior club football double as they defeated Clare's St Breckan's in yesterday's provincial club IFC decider in Mallow.

Seán Sheehan put over the opening point for the fancied Kerry side inside 90 seconds, but they struggled from there until the 20th minute as St Breckan's harried them into numerous errors. A Pádraig Kelly free and a Stephen Tierney point had Breckan's 0-2 to 0-1 ahead after 12 minutes. However, they lost wing-forward Maccon Byrne to a black card, the first of three players dismissed for the Clare side.

Please log in or register with for free access to this article.

Log In

Killian Spillane levelled matters in the 20th minute but Templenoe needed two points from Stephen O'Sullivan and a Brian Crowley effort to cancel out a '45 from Kelly as Templenoe led by 0-5 to 0-3 at the break.

Adrian Spillane scored on the restart as Templenoe set a more dominant tone but Breckan's still applied the pressure with Colm O'Brien missing a goal chance in the 37th minute.

There were three points in it, 0-8 to 0-5, when Breckan's midfielder Liam Tierney was shown a second yellow card in the 43rd minute. Two minutes later, Kelly was black-carded by referee John Ryan. Breckan's ultimately faded in the final quarter as points from Patrick Clifford and a second from Adrian Spillane gave Templenoe a double-score lead, 0-10 to 0-5, as the men from the Kingdom moved out of sight

Scorers - Templenoe: S O'Sullivan 0-6 (2f); A Spillane, K Spillane (1f) 0-2 each; S Sheehan, P Clifford, B Crowley, C Hallissey 0-1 each. St Breckan's: P Kelly (1f, 1 '45), A Davidson (2f) 0-2 each; S Tierney 0-1.

TEMPLENOE - D Cahalane; M Hallissey, T Morley, K O'Neill; G Crowley, T Spillane, P Clifford; S Sheehan, A Spillane; T Doyle, B Crowley, J Crowley-Holland; S O'Sullivan, K Spillane, C Hallissey. Subs: J Spillane for T Spillane (49), P Spillane Jnr for Crowley-Holland (53), K McCarthy for Clifford (57), M Reilly for B Crowley (59), J Rice for M Hallissey (59), J Sheehan for G Crowley (60+1).

ST BRECKAN'S - T O'Callaghan; D Carey, E Barrett, C Burke; J Sheedy, A Sweeney, R Danaher; L Tierney, D Masterson; M Byrne, P Kelly, S Tierney; C O'Brien, J McGann, A Davidson. Subs: C Shannon for Byrne (bc, 14), R O'Connell for Carey (43) M Hogan for Kelly (bc, 45), P Nagle for Barrett (59), K Blood for S Tierney (60+1), D Flaherty for Burke (60+1).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

REF - J Ryan (Cork)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport