| 11.4°C Dublin

O'Se recalled as Donaghy handed No 14 jersey for final


Marc O Sé, Kerry

Marc O Sé, Kerry


Marc O Sé, Kerry

KIERAN Donaghy has been named to start Sunday's All-Ireland final against Donegal and, as expected, Marc Ó Sé is back in the heart of the Kerry defence.

Ó Sé was surprisingly dropped for the Kingdom's semi-final replay against Mayo but responded brilliantly, coming on for Shane Enright and playing a key role in their thrilling extra-time victory.

Ó Sé reclaims the No 2 jersey in a team that sees one other change, with Stephen O'Brien back from injury to reclaim a starting spot at wing-forward, in place of Michael Geaney.

But the decision to start full-forward Donaghy (31) again is the big talking point.

He missed the entire National League through injury and only his brilliant cameo in the drawn game against Mayo earned him back a starting jersey for the replay. This will be his second start this year.

When he was called off the bench on the hour against Mayo the first day,  Donaghy played a key role in helping the Kingdom back from a five-point deficit, laying off the ball for James O’Donoghue to goal.

When they faced Mayo a second time, in Limerick, he got his first starting spot of the year but had been named as a replacement and wore the No 22 jersey.

Once again Donaghy played a key role, linking brilliantly with Kerry’s new forward ace in a similar partnership to the one he used to have with Colm Cooper. He lasted the full 90-plus minutes of the Gaelic Grounds thriller, but Sunday will only be his second start this year.

The Kerry minors have one change from their semi-final victory over Mayo. Spa’s Liam Kearney comes into the full-forward line to captain the side, replacing Jordan Kiely.

KERRY (SF v Donegal) – B Kelly; M O Se, A O’Mahony, F Fitzgerald; P Murphy, P Crowley, K Young; A Maher, D Moran; S O’Brien, J Buckley, D Walsh; P Geaney, K Donaghy, J O’Donoghue.

KERRY (MF v Donegal) – S Ryan; D O’Donoghue, B O Beaglaoich, T O’Sullivan; B Sugrue, A Barry, C Coffey; B O’Sullivan, M O’Connor; M Burns, B Rayel, M Flaherty; K Spillane, L Kearney, T O Se.

Irish Independent