| 16.3°C Dublin

O'Neill saves the day for Omagh

(After extra-time)

MacRory Cup q-final replay

It took a penalty save in the dying seconds from Omagh CBS 'keeper Patrick O'Neill to finally separate these two sides at Emyvale.

With a minute to go in extra-time, Ronan McHugh put Omagh in front but in the next attack Joe Morgan won a penalty for the Newry lads. However, midfielder Oisin O'Neill's spot-kick was well saved by the Omagh netminder.

In the opening 20 minutes it looked as if Omagh were going to run out comfortable winners as they established a 1-5 to 0-0 lead, with McHugh getting the goal and Joe Colton, Conan McElduff and Aidan McSorley among the points.

Finally, the record winners began to come into the game, with Jack Haughey and Conor Gilmore getting all their scores to leave it 1-6 to 0-5 at the break.

With the wind at their backs, St Colman's hit back to take the lead at the three-quarter mark thanks to a Conal Gordon goal. Omagh looked to be in trouble but points from Gavin Slane and McElduff tied it at 1-11 and forced extra-time.

Haughey and Slane exchanged points before the former's sixth point of the contest gave Colman's a slender lead at the end of the opening extra period.

Slane's fourth free levelled matters before the Tyrone lads claimed victory at the death.

SCORERS – Omagh CBS: R McHugh 1-2, G Slane 0-4fs, A McSorley, C McElduff 0-3 each, J Colton, S McGale 0-1 each. St Colman's: J Haughey 0-6 (2fs), C Gilmore 0-4 (3fs), C Gordon 1-0, J Morgan, P Keating, P Og McCrickard 0-1 each.

Omagh CBS – P O'Neill; C McQuaid, C McCann, D Mullan; R Samir, T McNamee, S McGale; J Darcy, B McDonnell; A McSorley, J Colton, R McHugh; A Fullerton, C McElduff, G Slane. Subs: M Coreless for Fullerton, R Bradley for McDonnell, O McCann for McGale, E Murray for McNamee, P Cassidy for Samir.

St Colman's Newry – J Heaney; C Brown, O Donnelly, C Gordon; P O'Hagan, R McQuaid, L McGreevy; F Aiken, O O'Neill; P Og McCrickard, J Haughey, J Morgan; C Gilmore, J Kearns, C Magee. Subs: A McKiernan for Kearns, P Keating for Donnelly, G McElroy for Brown, J Kearns for Magee.

Ref – P McEnaney (Monaghan)

Irish Independent