Sunday 17 December 2017

O'Leary nets Mullingar final spot

Mullingar S'rocks 2-8
The Downs 0-10
Garrycastle 3-12
Killucan 1-13

A brace of opportunist goals -- one in either half -- from Mullingar Shamrocks' corner forward Cian O'Leary proved crucial as his side overcame age-old rivals The Downs by four points in Mullingar, booking their place in the county final in what was a poor quality match.

Scorers -- Mullingar Shamrocks: O'Leary 2-0, L Smyth 0-3 (0-1f), C Curley 0-2, Quinn (0-1f), Daly and E Moore 0-1 each. The Downs: T Cleary 0-4 (0-3f), Conroy (0-2f) and Power 0-2 each, Crowley and Molloy 0-1 each.

Mullingar Shamrocks -- P Shaw; E Moore, A Purcell, M Irwin; M Curley, D O'Donoghue, A Smyth; G Doyle, C Twomey; A Clinton, L Smyth, S Quinn; F Spellman, C Curley, C O'Leary. Subs: D Daly for Doyle, (37), D Corroon for Twomey (50), G Corroon for Spellman (55), D Moore for O'Leary (58).

The Downs -- C McCormack; N Nolan, M Dalton, D Lynam; S Loughlin, B Hogan, S Cleary; J Smyth, B Murtagh; G Crowley, T Cleary, B Conroy; L Folan, N Molloy, S Power. Subs: J Conroy for Folan (ht), J Hogan for Nolan (42), S Devine for Conroy( 54), S O'Leary for Hogan (56).

Ref -- P Fox (Rosemount)

Last year's Leinster finalists Garrycastle advanced to their third Westmeath SFC decider in a row yesterday.

The reigning champions looked to be in real trouble at half-time when they trailed 1-8 to 0-6 to underdogs Killucan, but second-half goals from Mark McCallon and corner-forward Conor Cosgrove (2) secured the win.

Scorers -- Garrycastle: Cosgrove 2-0, McCallon 1-0, P Mulvihill 0-3, D Dolan (0-1 f), P Dillon (0-1 f), S Mulvihill and J McAteer 0-2 each, S O'Donoghue 0-1. Killucan: P Greville 0-7 (0-3 fs), J Nugent 1-1, S Leavy 0-3, C Leech and P Leavy (0-1f) 0-1 each.

Garrycastle -- C Mullin; J Dolan, J Gaffey, A Fox; M McCallon, K Henson, D Harte; S O'Donoghue, J McAteer; D O'Shaughnessy, D Dolan, R McGowan; C Cosgrove, P Dillon, P Mulvihill. Subs: E Mulvihill for Fox (ht), S Mulvihill for McGowan (44), A Browne for McAteer (53), A Daly for Cosgrove (57).

Killucan -- D Bryan; J Greville, F Boyle, S Morley; C Leech, J Shaw, M Dunne; C Jordan, P Leavy; A Doyle, J Nugent, C Boyle; B McKeogh, P Greville, S Leavy. Subs: B Smyth for J Greville (34), N Flanagan for McKeogh (52), D Riggs for Morley (57).

Ref -- D Maher (Ballynacargy)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport