Friday 18 January 2019

Offaly's Wallace hit with proposed ban

Offaly manager Stephen Wallace. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Offaly manager Stephen Wallace. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Donnchadh Boyle and Murt Murphy

Offaly football manager Stephen Wallace will be barred from the sideline for the Faithful's Leinster SFC opener against Wicklow should a proposed eight-week suspension handed down by the Kerry CCC stand.

The ban arises from the Kerry IFC clash between Ardfert and John Mitchels which was played at Austin Stack Park in Tralee and saw a number of individuals from both clubs pick up suspensions. Wallace and Pat O'Driscoll were handed proposed eight-week suspensions and it is understood that both clubs were also fined.

Wallace's ban would see him miss out on action at all levels and should Offaly beat Wicklow, he would also be barred from the sideline for a meeting with Dublin on May 27. Wallace, who has managed Kerry to a pair of All-Ireland junior titles, has sought a hearing.

Elsewhere, All-Ireland champions Corofin have been honoured with six winners on the first AIB GAA Club Players' football team of the championship.

Liam Silke, Kieran Fitzgerald, Dylan Wall, Michael Farragher, Ian Burke and Martin Farragher help make up the team which was chosen by local and national media. Burke, Farragher and Silke are also nominated for the Club Footballer of the Year award which will be announced at a banquet in Croke Park on Saturday, April 21.

Slaughtneil have the next highest representation with four footballers from the Derry club selected. Antóin McMullan, Karl McKaigue, Chrissy McKaigue and Chris Bradley all feature after their exploits over the season. James Murray and sharpshooter éanna O'Connor represent Kildare and Leinster champions Moorefield. Nemo Rangers have two representatives in Alan O'Connor and Luke Connolly with Kilcar's Paddy McBrearty completing the side. A hurling equivalent will be unveiled next week.

Club football team of the championship

Antóin McMullan (Slaughtneil); Liam Silke (Corofin), Kieran Fitzgerald (Corofin), Karl McKaigue (Slaughtneil); James Murray (Moorefield), Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil), Dylan Wall (Corofin); Alan O'Donovan (Nemo Rangers), Michael Farragher (Corofin); éanna O'Connor (Moorefield), Christopher Bradley (Slaughtneil), Ian Burke (Corofin); Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar), Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers), Martin Farragher (Corofin).

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport