Monday 18 December 2017

O'Connor the Treaty hero

Limerick 2-16 Clare 2-13 (After extra-time)

Limerick secured a dramatic McGrath Cup quarter-final victory thanks to two late goals which forced extra-time – setting the scene for substitute Darragh O'Connor to produce an inspired display.

A few minutes from the end of normal time, Mick O'Dwyer's side looked destined for a crack at Kerry next week, leading by 2-10 to 0-8, but then Ian Ryan and Seamus O'Carroll grabbed late goals.

Limerick dominated from there. O'Connor put them in front with a delightful score and by the end of the first period they led 2-14 to 2-12.

Eoghan O'Connor and man of the match Ryan added further points before David Tubridy provided the final Clare score.

In the opening half, apart from the goal, the sides were evenly matched, swapping a series of points. Then Clare scored a fortunate goal, which helped them to go in at the interval with a 1-7 to 0-6 lead.

They looked well on their way to victory after Paudge McMahon was in the right spot to grab his side's second goal four minutes into the second half.

Then, on 57 minutes, Ryan fisted to the Clare net and, just at the end, O'Carroll had a second goal to tie it all up at 2-10 each.

Limerick outscored Clare by six points to three in extra-time in what was their first outing of the year.

SCorers – Limerick: I Ryan 1-7 (4f), S O'Carroll 1-3 (2 '45s'), G Collins, E O'Connor, D O'Connor 0-2 each. Clare: P McMahon 2-1, D Tubridy 0-5 (3f), A Clohessy (1f), I McInerney (1f) 0-3 each, G Brennan 0-1.

Limerick – B Scanlon; C Coady, J McCarthy, M O'Riordan; S Lavin, P Browne, P Ranahan; T Lee, B O'Brien; J Riordan, J O'Meara, S O'Carroll; E O'Connor, G Collins, I Ryan. Subs: D O'Connor for O'Meara (h-t), D Treacy for Lee (51), M Sheehan for M O'Riordan (54), S Kelly for Collins (inj 57), L O'Dwyer for Coady (62), D Neville for Lavin (80).

Clare – J Hayes; S Collins, C Dixon, D Callinan; S Hough, G Kelly, M McMahon; G Brennan, C O'Connor; S McGrath, I McInerney, A Clohessy; P McMahon, C Talty, D Tubridy. Subs: C Dunning for Talty (11), M McCarthy for McMahon (38), S McNellis for Collins (45), N Kelly for Clohessy (52), T Downes for Hayes (70), G Quinlan for O'Connor (86).

Ref – P O'Sullivan (Kerry).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport