| 7.1°C Dublin

O Se boost as O'Connor plots Kerry strategy


PIVOTAL Kerry defender Tomas O Se is expected to be fit to face Mayo on Sunday despite a late injury scare.

The five-time All Star winner pulled up with a hamstring injury during a training match last Sunday, but the Kerry camp are confident that the problem will respond to physio in time for the wing-back make their starting line-up.

O Se's injury occurred during a weekend training camp -- Kerry boss Jack O'Connor took his squad to the Fota Island Golf Resort in Cork to put the finishing touches to their preparations.

O'Connor has plenty of other decisions to make before he finalises his team.

There has been strong speculation that converted centre-back Eoin Brosnan will be left out and held in reserve to provide midfield cover after Michael Quirke's recent retirement.

That might mean Shane Enright coming into a re-jigged defence at corner-back, although he hasn't trained for more than a week after suffering a recurrence of his hamstring injury.

Brosnan came out of inter-county retirement earlier this year after impressing in a defensive role with Dr Crokes in the Munster Club Championship and he made his debut as a county centre-back against Mayo in the Allianz League.

In recent training games, however, Brosnan had been lining out in midfield alongside Seamus Scanlon on the 'B' team.

That led to the speculation that either Killian Young or Aidan O'Mahony was set to take over the centre-back role, but the fresh injury to Enright may force the Kerry camp into a rethink.

There is also some doubt about Paul Galvin, who has had an injury-disrupted summer and did not play in the Fota practice match.

GAA Newsletter

Exclusives from under the skin of the GAA, from Ireland’s largest and best GAA team; Brolly, Mullane, Hogan and Ó Sé, to name but a few.

This field is required

If he is not ready to start, in-form Darran O'Sullivan is expected to revert to a half-forward role, with Kieran O'Leary in line to regain a starting spot at corner-forward.

Central Competitions

Control Committee

I have been informed by Fergal McGill from Croke Park that, while the four CEOs of the provincial councils -- Michael Delaney, John Prenty, Danny Murphy and Pat Fitzgerald -- are listed in official GAA literature as members of the Central Competitions Control Committee (CCCC), they do not involve themselves in disciplinary matters.

Therefore, they were not party to the decision regarding Wexford goalkeeper Anthony Masterson, about which I wrote yesterday.

GAA staff members McGill, Patrick Doherty and Bernard Smith, who are also listed among the CCCC members, officiate only in a secretarial capacity and do not take part in deliberations.

The remaining five members of the committee are chairman Seamus Woods, Michael Burns, Jim Berry, John Reidy and Tom Kilcoyne.

Eugene McGee

Most Watched