Friday 19 January 2018

Murtagh sees Rossies through

Roscommon 1-11 Galway 1-9

(After extra-time)

Diarmuid Murtagh was the hero for Roscommon as they booked a place in the final against Mayo in two weeks.

Galway's Gary Kelly gave his side the edge with a free in the first period of extra-time, but three points in a row for Roscommon -- two from Murtagh -- sealed the win.

But for long periods at Tuam Stadium it looked as if the champions would bow out in this repeat of last year's final

Eoin McCormack looked to have given Galway the win with his goal seven minutes from time, but two late frees from Thomas Corcoran pushed the game into extra-time.

An excellent goal in first-half injury-time from wing-back Ronan Daly gave Roscommon a 1-3 to 0-4 advantage at the break, but they were made to work all the way for the win.

Scorers -- Roscommon: D Murtagh 0-6 (3f); R Daly 1-0; T Corcoran 0-3 (3f); M Gunning, K Kilcline 0-1 each. Galway: G Kelly 0-5 (4f); E McCormack 1-0; J Lyons 0-2; J Heaney, L Silke 0-1 each.

Roscommon -- S Mannion; P Neilan, D Barron, C Kenny; T McKenna, C Hussey, R Daly; U Harney, T Corcoran; C Compton, R McManus, E Smith; D Murtagh, K Finn, M Gunning. Subs: B Fannon for McManus (35); N McInerney for McKenna (36); K Kilcline for Compton (50); C Casserley for Gunning (60); Compton for Casserley (70).

Galway -- R Lavelle; A Nolan, J Kennedy, E Wynne; L Silke, C Cunningham, E Kerin; S Lawless, M Daly; J Lyons, B McHugh, A Meeneghan; E McCormack, G Kelly, S Hughes. Subs: J Heaney for Meeneghan (20); G Gibbons for Kerin (37); M Upton for Lawless (39); A Meeneghan for Hughes (58); E Walsh for Cunningham (77); C Slattery for McHugh (78).

Ref -- F Flynn (Leitrim)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport