Monday 25 June 2018

Belgium BEL 5

Tunisia TUN 2


South Korea KOR 1

Mexico MEX 2


Germany GER 2

Sweden SWE 1


England ENG 6

Panama PAN 1


Japan JPN 2

Senegal SEN 2


Poland POL 0

Colombia COL 3


Saudi Arabia SAU

Egypt EGY

Uruguay URY

Russia RUS

Spain ESP

Morocco MAR

Iran IRN

Portugal POR

Denmark DNK

France FRA

Australia AUS

Peru PER

Iceland ISL

Croatia CRO

Nigeria NGA

Argentina ARG

Mexico MEX

Sweden SWE

South Korea KOR

Germany GER

Switzerland SUI

Costa Rica CRI

Serbia SRB

Brazil BRA

Senegal SEN

Colombia COL

Japan JPN

Poland POL

Panama PAN

Tunisia TUN

England ENG

Belgium BEL

Murphy-inspired Carlow edge out the Exiles

Carlow 2-14 London 2-9

A standout showing from Brendan Murphy helped give Carlow victory over London. Stock Photo: Sportsfile
A standout showing from Brendan Murphy helped give Carlow victory over London. Stock Photo: Sportsfile

A superb display by Brendan Murphy helped Carlow get their league campaign off to a winning start at Ruislip.

The Rathvilly man was sent off on his previous visit to London during last year's championship and atoned for that with a tireless performance around centre-field as the visitors eventually ground down a gutsy Exiles side.

Carlow were four points up inside seven minutes but were then caught napping when London skipper Liam Gavaghan combined with Killian Butler and fired a low shot past Robbie Molloy.

London had seven home-grown players in their starting XV and were competitive throughout, but they shot themselves in the foot on 21 minutes when Anthony McDermott was dispossessed in front of his own goal and Eoghan Ruth punished him by slamming the ball to the net.

Carlow were threatening to pull clear when they switched off in defence. Mark Gottsche's ball over the top found Gavaghan, who was fouled in the area as he pulled the trigger, and Eoin Murray sent Molloy the wrong way from the penalty spot.

Carlow led 1-11 to 2-4 at the interval, during which they were forced into a double change due to injuries to Barry John Molloy and Sean Murphy.

The scores dried up after the restart, despite some barnstorming runs from Murphy, while Butler missed a great chance for a third London goal.

An Adrian Moyles free made it a one-score game on 49 minutes but Carlow hit back with a quick-fire 1-1 to put the game to bed. Substitute Kieran Nolan exposed a tiring London defence with a quickly-taken free over the top and Jordan Morrissey was on the end of a slick passing move to raise the green flag.

Scorers - Carlow: P Broderick 0-6 (5f, 1 s/l); J Morrissey, E Ruth 1-1 each; D Foley 0-2 (2f); S Murphy, C Moran, D St Ledger, G Kelly 0-1 each. London: L Gavaghan 1-4 (4f); E Murray 1-0 (pen); K Butler, A Moyles (2f) 0-2 each; R Elliott 0-1.

Carlow: R Molloy; BJ Molloy, D St Ledger, J Morrissey; D Moran, C Lawlor, C Moran; S Murphy, S Gannon; E Ruth, B Murphy, D O'Brien; P Broderick, D Foley, J Murphy. Subs: K Nolan for S Murphy (h-t), G Kelly for Molloy (h-t), B Kavanagh for Lawlor (52), J Clarke for O'Brien (60), L Walker for Foley (68).

London: G McEvoy; P Butler, R Jones, P Begley; C Dunne, S McManus, A Moyles; A McDermott, J Moran; E Murray, L Gavaghan, T Waters; R Elliott, M Gottsche, K Butler. Subs: M Mangan for McManus (45), G Byrne for Murray (52), M Carroll for McDermott (60), J Daly for Jones (60).

Referee: J Bermingham (Cork).

Sunday Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport