Sunday 22 September 2019

Murphy lays down law for Carlow

Carlow 2-11 Leitrim 0-5

Carlow's Brendan Murphy. Photo: Ray McManus/Sportsfile
Carlow's Brendan Murphy. Photo: Ray McManus/Sportsfile Sportsdesk

Carlow's star midfielder Brendan Murphy scored five points from play in a man of the match performance from the Rathvilly clubman as Turlough O'Brien put visitors Leitrim to the sword in this third round Division 4 NFL tie at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Carlow hit Leitrim with early scores, including a 3rd-minute penalty converted by captain John Murphy, supplementing points from Brendan Murphy and a Darragh Foley free.

Keith Beirne got the western county off the mark with a pointed free on eight minutes and by half time Carlow held a 1-5 to 0-4 lead.

The home county adapted much better to a half time downpour and after Paul Broderick had picked off a brace of points, one a free which went in off the post Carlow were in control and it was game over when another Broderick shot hit the post and fell back into play kindly for John Murphy to crash home his second goal of the game. With previous wins away over London and Limerick, Carlow now have full points from three games and are keeping their promotion push goingwhile lowly Leitrim, who could only manage a Darragh Rooney point from play in the second half, have lost all three games in the division.

Leitrim finished with 14 men after Eoin Ward received a second yellow card.

The home victory also confirmed tlast summer's All-Ireland Championship Qualifier victory over Leitrim at the same venue which Carlow won by 2-14 to 0-13.

Scorers: Carlow J Murphy 2-0, 1-0 pen., B Murphy 0-5, P Broderick 0-4, 0-3f, D Foley (f) and D O'Brien 0-1 each. Leitrim: K Beirne 0-2f, N Plunkett, D Moran, D Rooney 0-1 each.

Carlow: R Molloy; D Moran S Redmond, C Lawlor; J Morrissey, D St Ledger, C Moran; B Murphy, S Murphy; S Gannon, D Foley, E Ruth; P Broderick, D O'Brien, J Murphy. M Rennick for Moran (h-t); K Nolan for Morrissey (54); J Kennedy for Foley (57); B Kavanagh for J Murphy (60), L Walker for Gannon (67).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Leitrim: D McKiernan; S Quinn, M McWeeney, M Murphy; O Madden, K Keegan, D McGovern; D Wrynn, C Moreton; C Gaffney, R O'Rourke, B Gallagher; D Moran, K Beirne, D Rooney. Subs: N Plunkett for McGovern (injured) (17); J Heslin for Gaffney (h-t); E ward for Moreton (h-t); N McGovern for Moran (50); D Carberry for Gallagher (54); A Flynn for Carberry (injured) 59.

Referee: A Kissane (Waterford).

Sunday Indo Sport

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport