Monday 22 October 2018

Munster Club JF Final: Extra-special O'Connor puts Pearses to sword

Knocknagree 1-17 Dromid Pearses 2-11 (AET)

Stock photo: Sportsfile
Stock photo: Sportsfile Sportsdesk

Cork champions Knocknagree wrested the Munster junior club title away from Kerry for only the third time in the competition's 15-year history with a tension-laden win in Mallow.

A late equaliser by Fintan O'Connor, after they'd been behind since the fourth minute, put this decider into extra-time and their only goal just before the break in the additional period, Anthony O'Connor tapping in from a Paul O'Connor pass, was the crucial score.

They maintained their three-point lead in the second extra phase and came up with desperate defending towards the end to keep Dromid at bay as the Kerry side tried hard for goal.

Knocknagree shaded possession but found themselves two points down at the break after conceding two soft goals to Pearses' Chris Farley and Gearoid Jackie O'Sullivan.

Dromid upped a gear in the third quarter but their shooting let them down.

Tense late minutes were lit up by a well-taken Pearses point by Aidan Shine O'Sullivan in the 56th minute. That gave his side the lead, once again, before an excellent equaliser by Eoghan McSweeney.

O'Shea intervened with a fisted point and Fintan O'Connor equalised again with almost the last kick of regulation time.

The floodlights then came on as Dromid again edged in front after points by O'Shea and Farley, before Knocknagree hit back with O'Connor's glory goal.

Scorers - Knocknagree: A O'Connor 1-7 (0-6f); E McSweeney, Fintan O'Connor 0-3 each; M Dilworth 0-2; M Mahoney, J F Daly 0-1 each. Dromid Pearses: N O'Shea 0-5 (3f); GJ O'Sullivan, C Farley (1f) 1-1 each; K Farley 0-2; S O'Connor, A Shine O'Sullivan 0-1 each.

Knocknagree: P Doyle; G O'Connor, K Buckley, P O'Connor; M Mahoney, A Sheehan, D Moynihan; D Cooper, P Collins; E McSweeney, JF Daly, F O'Connor; M Dilworth, A O'Connor, J Dennehy. Subs: C White for J Dennehy (46m), T Long for A Sheehan (58m), K Daly for D Moynihan (63m), J Dennehy for M Mahoney (69m), T Cooper for P O'Connor (70m).

Dromid Pearses: B O'Leary; C O'Shea, D O'Sullivan, S O'Connor; D Shine O'Sullivan, G O'Sullivan, PJ O'Sullivan; K O'Leary, A Shine O'Sullivan; GJ O'Sullivan, C Farley, K Sheehan; D O'Donoghue, T Curran, N O'Shea. Subs: K Farley for T Curran (46m), P Sheehan for D Shine O'Sullivan (54m), John GG O'Shea for K Sheehan (60m), T Curran for D O'Donoghue (64m), Michael Sheehan for D O'Sullivan (71m), N O'Connor for A Shine O'Sullivan (78m).

Referee: Alan Kissane (Waterford).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport