Sunday 8 December 2019

Moyna: We were going to withdraw over ruling

DCU 1-14
UL 0-8
Sigerson Cup

MANAGER Niall Moyna has revealed that holders Dublin City University (DCU) considered boycotting this preliminary round clash with University of Limerick.

The three-time winners were furious when Cork midfielder Aidan Walsh and Donegal goalkeeper Michael Boyle were deemed ineligible to play. The pair fell foul of new rules introduced by the GAA's Higher Education board last year.

There had been some speculation that a Disputes Resolution Authority (DRA) hearing would take place on Monday evening, but this did not happen.

DCU remain confident, nevertheless, that Walsh and Boyle will be cleared to play against Queen's University, Belfast, next week.

But Moyna lifted the lid on DCU's anger by confirming that he considered pulling the plug on yesterday's trip to Limerick.

Moyna said: "We contemplated yesterday (Monday) on whether to play the game or not. We felt it was very, very unfair on two of our students.

"Michael Boyle is in his final semester in his final year and they're telling him that he can't play? It beggars belief."

In the game, DCU raced into a five-point lead after a couple of scores each from Donegal's Michael Murphy and Dublin's Philly Ryan, but UL trailed by only four points at the break.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

UL fought back with scores from Paul Conroy and Paul Whyte, but never mounted a serious threat to DCU's lead.

Ryan had the final say when he scored his fourth point of the game to seal a nine-point victory for DCU.

Scorers – DCU: D Rock 1-1, M Murphy 0-5 (3f), P Ryan 0-4, M Quinn 0-2; P Flynn, F O Curraoin 0-1 each. UL: P Whyte 0-4 (1f), P Conroy 0-2; A Moloney, D Keohane 0-1 each.

DCU – J Farrelly; W Lowry, M Quinn, J Cooper; J Smith, J Brady, J McCarthy; F O'Curraoin, C Dunleavy; P Flynn, B Donnelly, W Hender-Phillips; D Rock, M Murphy, P Ryan. Subs: C Daly for Hender-Phillips (52), G Sweeney for Rock (55), P O'Hanlon for McCarthy (55).

UL – R Byrne; N Fitzgerald, B McGuire, D Dolan; L Mulligan, J O'Rourke, T Clancy; D Nilblock, K Canty; L McGovern, P Whyte, D Ryan; A Moloney, P Conroy, E Walsh. Subs: F Fitzgerald for N Fitzgerald (19), D Keohane for McGovern (45), S O'Callaghan for Walsh (45), B J Walsh for K Canty (45), G Ryan for Dolan (57).

REF – C Lane (Cork).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport