Wednesday 19 December 2018

Moy smash-and-grab stuns An Ghaeltacht

All-Ireland Club IFC S/f: Moy 1-5 An Ghaeltacht 0-6

Sean Cavanagh of Moy Tir na nÓg in action against Pádraig Ó Sé of An Ghaeltacht. Photo: Matt Browne/Sportsfile
Sean Cavanagh of Moy Tir na nÓg in action against Pádraig Ó Sé of An Ghaeltacht. Photo: Matt Browne/Sportsfile newsdesk

This latest instalment of the Kerry/Tyrone rivalry was as unedifying as anything that went before but there was late drama in Thurles on Saturday.

Fourteen-man An Ghaeltacht were in sight of the finishing line, leading 0-6 to 0-3, but the dogged Moy men snatched victory during six minutes of injury-time with Harry Loughran's goal crucial.

Even then the west Kerry side had a chance to snatch a draw but PJ Mac Láimh missed his shot for a winning goal when a point would have salvaged extra-time. The game was ruined as a spectacle by some very defensive football with it taking a full 17 minutes before Mac Láimh registered the game's first score. Seán Cavanagh put his side on the scoreboard in the 21st minute but both sides went in level at 0-2 apiece at half-time.

Brian Ó Beaglaoich, one of the few shinning stars, scored straight after the throw-in but it failed to open up the game as Éanna Ó Conchúir was sent off on a straight red card in the 42nd minute. The Kerry side played a possession game however in preventing Moy using their numerical advantage as they led by 0-6 to 0-3 heading into injury-time.

There were six additional minutes however as Colm Cavanagh sent in a high ball which his brother Seán broke down into the path of Loughran who poked the ball into the net to level matters.

Loughran followed up with the lead score and substitute Conall Duffy got the insurance score after Mac Láimh's miss following a good team move.

Scorers - Moy: H Loughran 1-1; S Cavanagh 0-3 (2f); C Duffy 0-1. An Ghaeltacht: S M Ó Conchúir (2f) and B Ó Beaglaoich 0-2 each; PJ Mac Láimh and D Ó Sé 0-1 each.

An Ghaeltacht - T Mac An tSaoir; PP Sauerland, M Ó Sé, C Ó Lúing; B Ó Beaglaoich, P Ó Sé, C Ó Muircheartaigh; R Ó Sé, É Ó Conchúir; C Ó Coileáin, D Ó Sé, PJ Mac Láimh; T Ó Sé, S Ó Bambaire, S M Ó Conchúir. Subs: G Mac an tSaoir for Mac Láimh (50), PJ Mac Láimh for Sauerland (58), C Mac Gearailt for Ó Coileáin (60 +1).

Moy - N Brady; P Mackle, T McNicholl, T Conlon; M Gribbin, N Conlon, E Deeney; C Cavanagh, T Loughran; D Conroy, H Loughran, E Rafferty; R Coleman, S Cavanagh, A Currie. Subs: C Duffy for Rafferty (46) and D McKeown for Conroy (52).

Ref - J Hickey (Carlow)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport