Thursday 22 February 2018

Moran gets UCD draw

Wexford 2-14 UCD 1-17

UCD's Sean O'Dea is tackled by Eoghan Nolan of Wexford. Photo: Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile
UCD's Sean O'Dea is tackled by Eoghan Nolan of Wexford. Photo: Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

A Larry Moran point deep into additional time gave UCD a deserved draw with Wexford in this highly entertaining O'Byrne Cup tie at Páirc Uí Síocháin, Gorey.

The college side will have breathed a sigh of relief on the final whistle for it was no more than they deserved, as they kicked two points in additional time to deny Seamus McEnaney a victory in his first competitive game in charge of Wexford.

It was evenly balanced through the first-half, with a John Tubritt 14th-minute goal putting the home side 1-1 to 0-2 in front.

However, the accuracy of Andy McDonnell, Eamon Wallace and Jack McCaffrey then edged the college side into a 0-8 to 1-4 lead at the interval.

McCaffrey, having his first game back after taking a year out from the Dubs set-up, looked sharp throughout the opening spell, but he did not re-appear for the second-half.

The sides were still deadlocked 1-7 to 0-10 after 42 minutes, but a goal from sub Paul Curtis edged the home side in front entering the closing 20 minutes.

A Tom Hayes 49th-minute goal gave the initiative back to UCD, but it was Wexford who produced a late surge and two PJ Banville points gave them the lead going into additional time.

However, late points from Hayes and Moran salvaged a deserved draw for the colleges outfit.

Scorers - Wexford: J Tubritt (1-1); P Curtis 1-0; P J Banville (0-4); B Brosnan (0-3, 0-1 free); C Lyng (0-2); D Waters, C Kehoe, K O'Grady, T Byrne (0-1 each). UCD: T Hayes (1-4, 0-4 frees), L Moran (0-4, 0-2 frees); A McDonnell, E Wallace (0-2 each); L Kelly, D Gleeson, S Quirke, J McCaffrey, E Lowry (0-1 each).

Wexford - C Swaine; J Rossiter, N Rossiter, R Tierney; C Carty, J Leacy, T Rossiter; D Waters, C Kehoe; K O'Grady, B Brosnan, E Nolan; R Nolan, J Tubritt, P J Banville. Subs: K Butler for Tierney; P Curtis for O'Grady; J Firman for Carty; C Lyng for E Nolan; S Gaul for Butler; T Byrne for R Nolan; R Nolan for tubritt; P Byrne for T Byrne.

UCD - C Honan; A Hassett, D McGuire, P Healy; S O'Dea, J McCaffrey, N McInerney; S Quirke, G Farrell; L Moran, A McDonnell, E Wallace; T Hayes, S Meade, E Lowry. Subs: L Kelly for McCaffrey; P Fagan for McDonnell; D Gleson for Wallace.

Ref - B Cawley (Kildare).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport