Friday 15 December 2017

Mooney brace puts Colman's into decider

St Colman's 3-14 Dundalk Schools 1-9

ST Colman's Newry made it through to a second successive Hogan Cup final with the minimum of fuss in Crossmaglen.

Dundalk Schools needed a good start to stand any chance of causing an upset, but the opposite happened and the writing was on the wall for them by the end of the first quarter as they trailed by five points.

Caolan Mooney -- who leaves for Aussie Rules in the summer -- made a massive impact with two first-half goals, the first of which came after 12 minutes.

And by that stage Jerome Johnston, Ryan Johnston and Tony McGreevy had already supplied points for the Newry school.

A couple of Ciaran Byrne points briefly settled Dundalk, but every time Newry attacked they looked like scoring, with Mooney getting another superb goal in the 25th minute.

In the final minute of the half, Conal McKeever gave Dundalk some hope with a goal which was quickly followed by a Sean McAuley point to leave it 2-8 to 1-4 at the interval.

In the third quarter, Byrne exchanged points with Jerome Johnson and Kealan Haughey, but the goal that Dundalk badly needed never looked like coming.

In the final 10 minutes, the holders showed their class as they tagged on 1-3 without reply with Mooney, Jerome Johnson and Patrick Morgan hitting points before Shay McArdle scored a goal right at the end.

SCORERS -- St Colman's Newry: C Mooney 2-3, J Johnson 0-5, S McArdle 1-1, T McGreevy, P Morgan, K Haughey, R Johnson, J Haughey 0-1 each. Dundalk Schools: C Byrne 0-6, C McKeever 1-1, D McMahon, S McAuley 0-1 each.

St Colman's Newry -- M McNeice; M O'Hare, N Donnelly, J Haughey; D Brannigan, E Magee, K Haughey; R Johnson, C Gough; T Mulholland, P Casey, C Mooney; S McArdle, J Johnson, T McGreevy. Subs: P Morgan for Mulholland, R Mussen for Mooney.

Dundalk Schools -- D Breen; K Lenehan, D Smith, C McMenamin; Sean Thornton, D McMahon, S McAuley; P Reilly, J Stewart; K Hearty, A Sharkey, C Doyle; C Byrne, S Thornton, C McKeever. Subs: C Ryan for Reilly, R Williams for McMenamin, A Murphy for Shane Thornton, A English for Sean Thornton, P Lynch for McAuley.

Ref -- P McEnaney (Monaghan).

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport