Wednesday 13 December 2017

Miserable day for Coulter and 'Bridge

Burren 1-16
Mayobridge 3-7
Down SFC Semi-finals
Bryansford 3-4
Kilcoo 0-8

The Mayobridge love affair with the championship came to an end at Pairc Esler yesterday. The former champions, appearing in their 11th semi-final in 12 years, were beaten by neighbours Burren in a game that never rose to any great heights as a football spectacle.

Injured Down star Benny Coulter did start the game and within three minutes he had the ball in the Burren net but it was to be his first and last action as he limped out of he game immediately after scoring.

With 10 minutes remaining the scores were level 1-12 to 3-6. Burren, however, went on to outscore their opponents 0-4 to 0-1 in the final quarter and booked their place in the county final.

SCORERS -- Burren: S Murdock 1-4 (0-3f), E Toner 0-4, C Murdock (0-2f), K McKiernan 0-2 each, D Rooney, J McGovern, Eoin McCartan, D O'Hare 0-1 each. Mayobridge: K Quinn, B Coulter, D Fegan 1-0 each, R Brady 0-3, N Sexton 0-2, C Magee, C O'Hare 0-1.

Burren -- C Murdock; Ciarán McGovern, D McCartan, R McGovern; K McKiernan, Chris McGovern, G McCartan; D Rooney, A Higgins; Conal McGovern, J McGovern, E McGovern; D O'Hare, E Toner, S Murdock. Subs: A McArdle for Higgins, Eoin McCartan for O'Hare, R McGovern for Chris McGovern

Mayobridge -- L Coulter; G Barry, S O'Hare, S Grant; A Barry, B Grant,M Lively; E Woods J Caldwell; K Quinn, B Coulter, C O'Hare; N Sexton, C Magee, R Brady. Subs: M Walsh for B Coulter, G Walsh for M Walsh, D Fegan for Caldwell B Garvey for C Magee.

Ref -- B Rice.

The O'Hare Cup will have a new home after next Sunday's final following the defeat of the holders Kilcoo, who were beaten by Bryansford in the second semi-final played at Pairc Esler.

As in previous games Bryansford put Kalum King at full-forward and, to counteract this threat, Kilcoo sent midfielder Felim McGreevy to mark him.

Bryansford appeared to be in trouble when centre-back Aidan Shields collected a second yellow card five minutes into the second half but they were given a lifeline two minutes later when Ciaran Brannagan was fouled and the corner-forward got up to slot home the resultant penalty.

Bryansford then defended magnificently to deny Kilcoo the chance to get the all-important goal which might have given them hope.

Scorers -- Bryansford: C Brannagan 2-1, C Gribben 1-1, C Brannagan, D Savage 0-1 each. Kilcoo: G McEvoy (0-2f), P Devlin (0-2f) 0-2 each, N Brannagan, C Laverty(0-1f), D McEvoy, J Johnston 0-1 each.

Bryansford -- P Travers; J Magorrian, P Bonny, S Toner; L Howard, A Shields, D McKibbin; J Ireland, C Gribben; C Clarke, C Maginn, D Savage; Chris Brannagan, K King, Ciaran Brannagan. Subs: N Murray for C Clarke (40), T Hanna for Chris Brannagan (52) .

Kilcoo -- S Kane; N Brannagan, Aidan Brannagan, G McEvoy; N McEvoy, R Morgan, Aaron Brannagan; F McGreevy, M McClean; P Devlin, C Laverty, D McAvoy; S O'Hanlon, G McEvoy, J Johnston. Subs: P Greenan for McEvoy (h-t), A Devlin for McEvoy (40), C McLean for Aidan Brannagan (60).

Ref -- D Moore.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport