Tuesday 21 January 2020

Meehan shows touch of class

Munster MFC Championship: Clare 3-13 Limerick 1-10

Shane Meehan was outstanding, scoring 1-5 in the first half. Stock image
Shane Meehan was outstanding, scoring 1-5 in the first half. Stock image

Independent.ie newsdesk

Shane Meehan was outstanding, scoring 1-5 in the first half, as Clare opened their campaign with a merited win over Limerick at Cusack Park. The 16-year-old tormented the Clare full-back line throughout and his jinking runs marked him out as one for the future.

Scorers - Clare: M McInerney 2-3, S Meehan 1-6 (2f), E McMahon 0-2 (2f), C Okoye and C McDonagh 0-1 each. Limerick: P Gallagher (4f), D Maloney (3f) 0-4 each, J Hayes 1-0, P O'Shaughnessy, C Carew 0-1 each.

Clare - M Garrihy; J Reidy, D Connelly, J Murphy; C Carrig, C Rouine (c), A O'Connor; C Okoye, E McMahon; T Kelly, C McDonagh, P O'Donoghue; K Keane, S Meehan, M McInerney. Subs: G Daurio for O'Donoghue (55), L Gammell for Gallagher (56), M Shanahan for O'Keeffe (58).

Limerick - K Walsh; S Bradshaw, C Carew, M O'Hanrahan; L Scannell, T Lyons, D O'Keeffe; J Molyneaux, J Hayes (c); K O'Kelly, L Gleeson, B Foley; P O'Shaughnessy, E Murphy, P Gallagher. Subs: D Kearns for Scannell (21), D Maloney for Gellson (37), K Guinea for O'Kelly (48), R O'Connor for Lyons (52), S Keane for K Keane (58)

Ref - P O'Driscoll (Cork).

Kerry 1-15 Tipperary 0-4

Paul Walsh led the way as Kerry saw off Tipperary in Thurles.The tone was set as early as the first minute when fleet-footed Walsh pointed the first of his 1-3 tally.

Scorers - Kerry: P Walsh 1-3 (1-0 pen), R Ó Beaglaoich 0-5 (4f), D Geaney 0-2 (2f), K Falvey, J Kennelly, P D'arcy, P O'Shea, S Quilter (45) 0-1 each. Tipperary: C English 0-3 (2f), C Whelan 0-1.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Kerry - M Kelliher; C Flannery, K O'Donoghue, O Fitzgerald; C Moriarty, D McCarthy, D Murphy; D Rahilly, D Lyne; P Walsh, P O'Shea, K Falvey; P D'arcy, J Kennelly, R Ó Beaglaoich. Subs: D Dineen for J Kennelly (43), J O'Connor for P D'arcy (46), D Mangan for K O'Donoghue (49), S Quilter for D Lyne (53), D Geaney for R Ó Beaglaoich (56), J McCarthy for K Falvey (59).

Tipperary - C Scully; T McDonagh, S Lowe, C McDonagh; M O'Meara, K Hayes, J Ryan; B Murphy, K Ryan; M Hackett, A Flannery, D Ryan; C English, K Shelly, E Daly. Subs: D Farrelly for A Flannery (h-t), G Meagher for T McDonagh (39), C Whelan for B Murphy (43), J O'Sullivan for J Ryan (49), R Byron for E Daly (56).

REF - D O'Callaghan (Limerick).


Aodhán Ó Luasa topped the scoring charts as Cork set up a semi-final clash with Kerry with a comfortable win at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Scorers - Cork: A Ó Luasa 1-5 (2f), C Corbett, S McDonnell 1-2 each, E Cooke 1-1, D O'Sullivan 0-3, M O'Neill 0-3, D Buckley, F Cronin, E Nation, J Harte 0-1 each. Waterford: J Power (1f), N O'Keeffe (1f) 0-2 each, A Ryan 0-1 (f).

CORK - D Doody; D Connolly, D Buckley, C O'Donovan; F Cronin, D Phelan, E Nation; N Hartnett, R Lombard; H Murphy, D O'Sullivan, E Cooke; S McDonnell, A Ó Luasa, C Corbett. Subs: J Harte for Lombard, A Whelton for Murphy (both 35), M O'Neill for Corbett (37), N Lordan for Connolly (44), M White for Doody, J O'Shea for Nation (51).

WATERFORD - N McSweeney; C Foley, S Boyce, S Lennon; L Power, T Walsh, L Fennell; C Browne, J Power; A Ryan, L Walsh, S Ronayne; N O'Keeffe, M Ó Floinn, R Elliffe. Subs: H Griffin for Ryan (18, injured), A Behan for Power (h-t), T Mooney for Ronayne (40), P Fitzgerald for Ó Floinn (50), S Walsh for Elliffe (53), K Taylor for Fennell (58).

Ref - B Griffin (Kerry).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: New era for Dublin, all up for grabs in the hurling league and club final heroics

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport