Friday 19 January 2018

McTigue strike helps Mayo seal spoils

Mayo 2-12 Galway 0-10

Mayo could afford to shoot 16 wides and still comfortably claim the Paddy Brett Cup at Dr Hyde Park.

John Kelly's charges -- who went straight through to the final following Leitrim and Roscommon's withdrawal from the competition -- were ring-rusty early on but once they found their feet they easily saw off Galway.

Captain Ronan McNamara was excellent for the winners and he was ably assisted by Aidan McTigue and Alan Egan who kept the scoreboard ticking over.

Mayo spurned a host of opportunities early on and things didn't look good for them when the impressive Cathal Coleman and Martin Coady pushed the Tribesmen four points to the good.

Incredibly, despite their wastefulness in front of goal, Mayo were level by the 22nd minute. Egan got them off the mark in the 21st minute before full-forward Colin Dempsey availed of some generous Galway defending to raise a green flag.

A fine point on the turn from Peadar Seoighe and a fisted effort from McTighe meant the sides were still level approaching half-time, but a free from Enda McManamon in injury time edged Mayo in front by 1-3 to 0-5.

Galway turned the tables in the first 10 minutes of the second half to surge a point clear -- 0-8 to 1-4 -- but once McTigue goaled after Simon Cloherty unselfishly squared possession in the 46th minute, there was only going to be one winner.

Mayo hit five unanswered points from Cloherty, Egan, Ronan McManamon (2f) and wing-back Michael Walsh to canter to a comfortable victory.

SCORERS -- Mayo: A McTigue 1-2, A Egan, R McNamara (3f) 0-3 each, C Dempsey 1-0, E McManamon (1f), P McManamon, S Cloherty, M Walsh 0-1 each. Galway: C Coleman 0-5 (3f); M Coady, P Seoighe, A Geraghty, K Reilly, E Joyce 0-1 each.

MAYO -- P Mannion; L O'Malley, N McCormack, B Leonard; S McDermott, O Feeney, M Walsh; R McNamara, P Mannion; A Egan, E McManamon, S Cloherty; M Moran, C Dempsey, A McTigue. Subs: J Kelly for Moran (h-t), P Collins for E McManamon (46), S Kelly for McTigue (53).

GALWAY -- N Walsh; E O'Sullivan, C O'Toole, C Ó Domhnaill; D Rattigan, C Leyden, D Reilly; A Geraghty, R Hughes; M Coady, JJ Greaney, P Seoighe; C Coleman, N Meenaghan, E Joyce. Subs: D Coyne for O'Sullivan (20), K Reilly for Meenaghan (h-t), P Gleeson for Leyden (44), A Molloy for Joyce (54).

REF -- E O'Grady (Leitrim)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport