Saturday 17 March 2018

McNamee paves way to semi-finals for new boys St Paul's

St Paul's 2-11 St Colman's 1-11 (MacRory Cup)

A football
A football

THE derby Danske Bank MacRory Cup quarter-final in Crossmaglen didn't disappoint yesterday with "new boys" St Paul's, Bessbrook backing up their MacCormack Cup league win with a three-point victory over St Colman's, Newry in an exciting game.

St Colman's, record 19-time winners of the title, went into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead at the end of the first quarter with the aid of a strong breeze and three points from Oisin O'Neill.

The second quarter changed the pattern of the game as an 19th-minute goal from Micheal McNamee, sandwiched between two Mark McCabe points, put St Paul's in control and they led by 1-6 to 0-5 at the break.

After the sides traded scores on the re-start another turning point came with referee Pat McEnaney awarding Bessbrook a penalty which Jodie McGovern fired to the net for a 2-7 to 0-7 lead.

St Colman's hit back with a goal from Joe Morgan in the 46th minute. Two frees from Oisin O'Neill closed it to 2-9 to 1-11 in the 54th minute. Pearse Og McCrickard then beat the St Paul's goalie Michael Murphy but his shot was stopped on the line. That seemed to lift Bessbrook as they finished with points from Aaron Boyle and Micheal McNamee to book their place in the semi-finals against the winner of Wednesday evening's delayed quarter-final between holders St Patrick's, Maghera and St Patrick's, Dungannon.

SCORERS - St Paul's: J McGovern 1-3 (1-0 pen), M McNamee 1-2 (1f), A Boyle, M McCabe 0-2each, J Og Burns, R Gaskin 0-1 each. St Colman's: O O'Neill 0-7 (6fs), S McConville 0-2 ,P Og McCrickard, R O'Neill, J Morgan 1-0 each

St Paul's - M Murphy; C McGuinness, C Boylan (capt), K Mallon; D Loye, R Gaskin, A Boyle; C McConville, P Quinn; R McSherry, M McCabe, S Hoey; M McNamee, J Og Burns, J McGovern. Subs: S Conlon for S Hoey (BC), F O'Rourke for A Boyle, S Loye for P Quinn.

St Colman's - J Heaney; R McGreevey, O Donnelly, C Gordon; N Murray, M Harte, R Garvey; F Aiken, C Carr; J French, O O'Neill , P Og McCrickard; R O'Neill, S McConville, J Morgan. Subs : J Sands for J French, S Leneghan for J Morgan, J Morgan for R McGreevey.

Ref - P McEnaney (Monaghan)

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport